LibGuides: H-Index Using Web of Science, SCOPUS, and Google Scholar: Additional Resources

Additional Resources

On the H-Index, Journal Rankings, Publishing, and Alternatives (Altmetrics):

Altmetrics: A Manifesto
"We rely on filters to make sense of the scholarly literature, but the narrow, traditional filters are being swamped. However, the growth of new, online scholarly tools allows us to make new filters; these altmetrics reflect the broad, rapid impact of scholarship in this burgeoning ecosystem. We call for more tools and research based on altmetrics." This site explores new alternative ways to measure scholarly impact outside traditional systems.
Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research.
H-Index : Wikipedia
NOTE: The article's neutrality and accuracy is disputable. Nonetheless, it contains a respectable list of print resources in its References section and a simple explanation of an h-index.
Journal Ranking: Wikipedia
A brief description of journal ranking along with a list of various ways to measure it with links.
Publish or Perish (PoP) H-Index Software for Google Scholar: Harzing.com
Software for retrieving and analyzing academic citations from Google Scholar.
Understanding Research Metrics
Learn about the range metrics you can use to help monitor your journal’s performance and how you can support the responsible use of research metrics. By the journal editors at Taylor & Francis.
Chronicle of Higher Education (UTD users only)
For the latest news on issues in higher education relevant to teaching staff and faculty, including publishing and job information.

Altmetrics for Information Professionals by Kim Johan Holmberg
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
The goal of any research assessment is to evaluate the value or quality of the research in comparison to other research. As quality is highly subjective and difficult to measure, citations are used as a proxy. Recently we have seen new online data sources being researched for this purpose and disruptive ideas with the power to change research assessment. Altmetrics is the new research area that investigates the potential of these new data source as indicators of the impact that research has made on the scientific community and beyond, and thus possibly also as indicators of the societal impact of research. This book will present some of these new data sources, findings from earlier altmetrics research, and the disruptive ideas that may radically change scholarly communication. Presents some of the key ideas and innovations in earlier research that have been driving the evolution from bibliometrics to webometrics, and with the advent of social media to altmetrics. Discusses the shortcomings and pitfalls of bibliometrics in research evaluation and the potential of altmetrics to overcome some of these shortcomings.
An Introduction to Bibliometrics by Rafael Ball
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2017
An Introduction to Bibliometrics: New Development and Trends provides a comprehensible, readable and easy to read introduction to bibliometrics. Importantly, the book surveys the latest developments of bibliometrics (such as altmetrics, etc.) and how the field is likely to change over the next decade. In the literature, bibliometrics is generally discussed from one of two perspectives: (1) Purely mathematical/statistical or (2) Its sociological implications. Both approaches are very far from how most users want to apply bibliometrics. This book fills that need by providing tactics on how bibliometrics can be applied to their sphere of scientific activity.

Other Journal Ranking Sources

For an overview of the topic of journal citation reports, see Definition. See Generating JCRs Using Web of Science for a quick tutorial on using the library's database, Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Online.

Eigenfactor.org
- A free and searchable database, Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is included in Journal Citation Reports. It continues to be listed here for use on its own.
- The website includes an interactive mapping function that shows the relationship of branches of science to each other based on the size of the field and the citations generated by the journals of the field. Rather than the "soft" categories used in Journal Citation Reports, where a journal may be located in one or more categories, Eigenfactor uses a hard category where a journal can only fit in one discipline.
Harzing.com
- "This site provides information, online papers and resources about Harzing's areas of research: International and Cross-cultural Management. It also presents resources to assist with academic publishing and the assessment of research and journal quality, as well as software to conduct citation analysis."
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
- A free source that uses data from Elsevier's SCOPUS database. Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country.

Thanks to ASU Libraries for assembling the list of additional sources on journal rankings.