LibGuides: Graphic Novels, Manga, and Anime: Introduction

About This Guide

The following is a guide to graphic novels, manga, and anime at the McDermott Library. It gives the locations and call numbers for these books, ebooks, and media. It also includes resources for scholarship, analysis, and criticism of comics, graphic novels, manga, and anime.

Photo: Adobe stock.

Top Resources

Mass Media POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
ATEC
Literature POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This searches all of the following databases simultaneously: Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text, Literary Reference Source, and MLA International Bibliography.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
How to search this database
Project Muse (electronic journals from Johns Hopkins Press)
This provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins in 1993.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.