The following is a guide to graphic novels, manga, and anime at the McDermott Library. It gives the locations and call numbers for these books, ebooks, and media. It also includes resources for scholarship, analysis, and criticism of comics, graphic novels, manga, and anime.
Photo: Adobe stock.
Graphic novels and manga are primarily located on the 4th floor of the library under the call number range of PN 6700 (see below).
Search the Library Catalog for specific titles or to locate graphic novels in other locations. Some titles, such as graphic novel adaptations of literary works and biographies, may be in locations other than the PN 6700 call number range.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
Project MUSE provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences from 1993 to current. Beginning in 2025, some Project Muse journals will benefit from a Subscribe 2 Open (S2O) program. Journals that are part of the program and that reach a sustainability threshold, as determined by Project Muse, will have articles converted to open access at no additional cost.
Learn more about S2O here. Questions about this program can be sent to Davin Pate at djp130330@utdallas.edu.
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.