Engineering

This text serves as a concise introduction to the ocean of information collectively known as "Engineering Mathematics." Admittedly, compiling everything into a short book that is useful to any audience is an impossible task; therefore, we picked a few main ideas holding up the mathematics within the engineering curriculum instead of stuffing all of the details into such a small package. This text addresses conceptual understanding as often as possible by providing an intuitive basis for formalized study within engineering/mathematics. Whether you are a math or science instructor tasked to teach an engineering class, a high school student looking into engineering, or an engineering student already, we hope you are able to walk away from this text with tangible outcomes--maybe even a refined perspective on the subject.

In two editions spanning more than a decade, The Electrical Engineering Handbook stands as the definitive reference to the multidisciplinary field of electrical engineering. Our knowledge continues to grow, and so does the Handbook. For the third edition, it has grown into a set of six books carefully focused on specialized areas or fields of study. Each one represents a concise yet definitive collection of key concepts, models, and equations in its respective domain, thoughtfully gathered for convenient access. Combined, they constitute the most comprehensive, authoritative resource available.

The first edition of this title proved the most successful of the Portable Handbook series launched in 1999. Aimed at electrical engineers and technicians working in building power systems, the relentlessly practical Handbook succeeded as an in the field working tool. This new edition is necessitated by the new 2002 version of the National Electrical Code (NEC). This code changes render much of the existing material obsolete, so over half the chapters require heavy rewrites to stay current.

The first handbook to focus exclusively on industrial engineering calculations with a correlation to applications, Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas, and Calculations contains a general collection of the mathematical equations often used in the practice of industrial engineering.

This handbook explains principles, processes, methods, and procedures of optical engineering in a concise and practical way. It emphasizes fundamental approaches and provides useful formulas and step-by-step worked-out examples to demonstrate applications and clarify calculation methods. The book covers refractive, reflective, and diffractive optical components; lens optical devices; modern fringe pattern analysis; optical metrology; Fourier optics and optical image processing; electro-optical and acousto-optical devices; spatial and spectral filters; optical fibers and accessories; optical fabrication; and more. It includes over 2,000 tables, flow charts, graphs, schematics, drawings, photographs, and mathematical expressions.

A new edition of the bestselling industrial and systems engineering text, this book provides students, researchers, and practitioners with easy access to a wide range of industrial engineering tools and techniques in a concise format. It expands the breadth and depth of coverage, emphasizing new systems engineering tools, techniques, and models. New coverage includes control charts, engineering economy, health operational efficiency, healthcare systems, human systems integration, lean systems, logistics transportation, manufacturing systems, material handling systems, process view of work, queuing systems, reliability systems and tools, and six sigma techniques.

The definitive bible for the field of biomedical engineering, this collection of volumes is a major reference for all practicing biomedical engineers and students. Now in its fourth edition, this work presents a substantial revision, with all sections updated to offer the latest research findings. New sections address drugs and devices, personalized medicine, and stem cell engineering. Also included is a historical overview as well as a special section on medical ethics.

This classic Tutorial Text provides a basic understanding of many fundamental optical principles. The Second Edition has been updated to reflect the development of electronic sensors, as well as the advent of mainstream consumer optical products. Chapters also emphasize the application of state-of-the-art computer software to generate solutions to related lens design and optimization problems. This is an ideal textbook for introductory courses at advanced high school and college levels. For those who proceed to work in the field of optical engineering, this book will provide a convenient source of valuable, basic reference material.

Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering, Three Volume Set is a unique source for rapidly evolving updates on topics that are at the interface of the biological sciences and engineering. Biomaterials, biomedical devices and techniques play a significant role in improving the quality of health care in the developed world. The book covers an extensive range of topics related to biomedical engineering, including biomaterials, sensors, medical devices, imaging modalities and imaging processing. In addition, applications of biomedical engineering, advances in cardiology, drug delivery, gene therapy, orthopedics, ophthalmology, sensing and tissue engineering are explored.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering, 5-volume set, includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education. Each article is written by an expert in his or her particular specialty and is peer-reviewed by two other experts to ensure that it is clear and precise. References and website of related interest accompany every article.