Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertations & Theses

Guide to finding dissertations and theses at UT Dallas and from outside schools.

Quick Reference Handouts

Downloadable instructions for locating dissertations and theses in a variety of formats at the library. Covers both UTD-only publications and those from outside institutions.

Dissertations & Theses @ UTD

 

  • Dissertations & Theses in Paper and Microfilm [CATALOG SEARCH] - users may search the catalog using one of the following suggested search phrases to locate UTD-only dissertations or theses.
     
    • "University of Texas at Dallas" thesis - A broad search for a combination of mainly theses and some dissertations at UTD (some dissertations have been classified as "Ph.D thesis"). Add a keyword (subject), advisor name, and/or author name to your phrase to narrow your search.
    • "University of Texas at Dallas" dissertation -  For dissertations only at UTD. Some dissertations that have been classified as "Ph.D thesis" rather than "dissertation" proper may be excluded by this search (see bullet point below for an additional search option for Ph.D dissertations). Add a keyword (subject), advisor name, and/or author name to your phrase to narrow your search.
    • "University of Texas at Dallas" "Ph D" (note the space between "Ph" and "D") - A narrower search for dissertations only at UTD. If the record mentions “dissertation” without the accompanying phrase “Ph D”, it will be excluded from this search. This dissertation search will not yield as many results as the bullet points above. Add a keyword (subject), advisor name, and/or author name to your phrase to narrow your search.
       
  • If a dissertation or thesis in the catalog is available electronically, click the "View Online" tab. For other formats (paper and/or microfilm), click the blue Map It button. Be sure to note the call number. 
     
  • Call Numbers and Locations of UTD Theses & Dissertations:
     
    • Theses - call number will start with LD5340.5. Paper copies will be located in Special Collections - UTD Archives on the 3rd floor. Contact Special Collections during operating hours for assistance: 972-883-2570 or libspco@utdallas.eduMicrofilm copies will be located in the Microforms Area on the east side of the 2nd floor. Ask at the Services Desk or Research Services Desk for help locating microfilm.
    • Dissertations - call number will start with LD5340.7. Paper copies will be located in Special Collections - UTD Archives on the 3rd floor. Contact Special Collections during operating hours for assistance: 972-883-2570 or libspco@utdallas.edu. Microfilm copies will be located in the Microforms Area on the east side of the 2nd floor. Ask at the Services Desk or Research Services Desk for help locating microfilm.

    • NOTE:  Dissertations and theses in paper or microfilm formats may not be taken from the library. The Print Center contains equipment for viewing and digitizing/printing microfilm documents and for scanning or photocopying paper documents.
       
  • Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas at Dallas [ELECTRONIC ACCESS] - Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas at Dallas is a subset of the Dissertations & Theses database for researching the dissertations and theses produced only by the University of Texas at Dallas. Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas at Dallas provides full text for most dissertations and indexing and abstracts with selected full text for theses. Search options include author, title, keyword, advisor, committee member, school name, and more.

    If a title is not available in electronic full text, users will have one of two options to attain access. After locating your title in Dissertations & Theses @ University of Texas at Dallas, click on the "Order a copy" link located under the title. If the "Order a copy" option is not provided (as will be the case for any master's theses not available in electronic full text), search the library catalog by the document's title or author (see the instructions above for help). A paper copy and/or microfilm copy of the document should be available at the library.
     
  • For more help searching the catalog or the dissertations and theses database, Ask a Librarian for assistance.