Exploring Special Collections Instruction Sessions: A Guide for Faculty

Visits to Special Collections and University Archives Division can be catered to individual classes and subjects, so each visit could be a bit different. Whether you're teaching art history, game design and animation, or any class in between, we'll work with you to create an engaging, hands-on experience with our materials.

We offer Archives 101 as an introduction to Special Collections and primary sources, or we can create sessions specific to your course objectives. Our instruction sessions engage students in hands-on learning while developing research and critical thinking skills.

While every class session is uniquely designed to support your course objectives, there are some universal topics and expectations that help ensure a successful visit.

Introduction (15-20 minutes): Brief overview of collections, procedures, and archival concepts

Hands-on Experience (45-60 minutes): Students engage with materials through:

• Guided exploration
• Collection-specific activities
• Hands-on research projects
• Primary source interpretation

Special Collections and University Archives Division Reading Room, Eugene McDermott Library-UT Dallas

Schedule at least 2 weeks in advance

• Fill out the Special Collections Instruction Request Form
• Discuss course objectives with Special Collections staff
• Identify relevant materials
• Plan assessment methods

1. Non-UTD visitors to the McDermott Library must register at the service desk on the 2nd floor (ground floor) and present a government ID with a photo. All visitors to the History of Aviation Archive, located in SP2, must present a photo ID. We ask that all visitors, online and in person, fill out a Research Request Form.
2. Any personal property (coats, purses, hats, bags, backpacks, briefcases, research materials, etc.) will be stored in lockers in the department’s break room.
3. All the materials must be handled with great care. Patrons who carelessly handle materials may be denied further access.
4. Cell phone use is not permitted.
5. Patrons are not permitted to do their own copying and/or scanning or using electronic devices of any kind – for example handheld scanners, tablets, cell phones, digital cameras, or other devices – that could be used for reproduction.
6. Digital cameras, cell phone cameras, or other electronic devices may not be used to take pictures of the Special Collections exhibits without the permission of Special Collections staff.
7. Patrons are asked to sit at the table properly. No feet are allowed on the tables, no sitting on the tables, no sleeping or lounging at the tables.
8. No food, drink, tobacco, or gum is allowed in Special Collections.

To Glove or Not to Glove?

You might be surprised to see researchers and staff handling rare materials without white gloves in Special Collections. While gloves are required for certain materials, clean, dry hands often provide better control and safer handling of archival documents.

Leading institutions like the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian, and the National Archives support this evidence-based approach to materials handling. For more information about current best practices, explore these articles:

• Library of Congress: "Should gloves be worn when handling valuable collections?"
• Smithsonian: "No Love for White Gloves, or: the Cotton Menace"
• National Archives: "Handling historic collections: The gloves are still off"

Photo by <a href="https://stockcake.com/i/nostalgic-photo-handling_157534_21755">Stockcake</a>

When Are Gloves Required?

Gloves are recommended in specific situations:

• When handling photographs to prevent damage from skin oils
• When working with materials that pose health risks, such as:
  • Items with visible mold growth
  • Historic books from the 1800s that may contain arsenic-based preservatives
  • Other materials that could be harmful to handlers

Photo by <a href="https://stockcake.com/i/ancient-manuscript-handling_644857_905144">Stockcake</a>

Why Clean Hands Are Often Better

While this photo demonstrates gloved handling, current archival best practices often recommend clean, bare hands. Here's why:

• Cotton gloves can catch on fragile, deteriorating materials
• Gloves reduce tactile sensitivity when handling delicate pages
• Clean, dry hands (free from lotions and oils) provide better control and safer handling
• Direct contact with clean hands often poses less risk to archival materials than snagging or accidental tears from gloves