Welcome to the Special Collections & University Archives Division's Resource or Libguide. Here you'll find essential information about arranging and preparing for archival instruction sessions that bring primary sources into your classroom. Our sessions offer hands-on engagement with rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and other unique materials that enrich learning and spark meaningful research opportunities.
The Value of Special Collections and University Archives
In Special Collections and University Archives Division, we connect students directly with history through our diverse holdings. From rare books and university archives to aviation history and philatelic collections, students can develop critical thinking and research skills through hands-on learning experiences using our resources.
Visits to our department can be customized for any class or subject. The suggestions in this guide offer starting points for collaboration, but we welcome innovative ideas for using our collections. While every session includes core components to ensure success, we encourage creative approaches to engaging with our materials. Whether you're teaching art history, game design, or any other discipline, we'll work with you to design meaningful hands-on experiences that support your specific course objectives.
Entrance to Special Collections and University Archive Division
Students engage directly with historical materials, developing critical analysis skills. History students can examine Civil War postal routes through our philatelic collection, while arts students study the delicate illustrations in our botanical works. Computer science classes might analyze historical documentation methods and early classes at UT-Dallas, and literature students can trace the evolution of publishing through our rare books.
Belsterling Botanical Collection-Rare botanical and horticultural works, featuring unique insights into Texas gardening history.
History of Aviation Archive-The History of Aviation Archives is the largest section of the Special Collections Division, consisting of a world-class aeronautical archives and library.
Rare Books Collection-Multilingual rare books with books as early as the 16th century, including the History of the Book Collection.
University Archives-The University Archives collects and preserves items of enduring value that document the history of UT Dallas.
Wineburgh Philatelic Research Library-Extensive stamp and postal history resources, including Civil War postal history materials.
Photos from the Wineburgh Philatelic Research Library and Rare Book Collection
Ready to bring primary sources into your course work? Complete our Special Collections Instruction Request Form to schedule a consultation. We'll create engaging sessions that connect with your course goals.
Thomas Allen, PhD, CA, Senior Curator of University Archives, thomas.allen1@utdallas.edu
Patrizia Nava, CA, Senior Curator of Aviation Archives, patrizia.nava@utdallas.edu
Jennifer Ottinger, MLIS, Special Collections Librarian, jennifer.ottinger@utdallas.edu
