A comprehensive A-Z guide to warfare from the classical period to the present day, including the social, political, technological, and economic background of major conflicts. Entries cover people (military leaders, theorists, inventors, etc.), weapons and equipment, wars, campaigns, andbattles, strategy and tactics, logistics, fortifications, military life, military literature, military medicine, as well as wide-ranging contextual entries on topics as diverse as animals in war and pacifism. There are 75 specially commissioned maps, and 20 in-text line diagrams.

With more than 1,100 entries written by some 500 distinguished contributors, The Oxford Companion to American Military History is "the most comprehensive treatment of American military history ever compiled" (Parameters: U.S. Army War College Quarterly) and an "easy-to-browse, well-organized work" (The Washington Post). Here is a gold mine of information on American military history, exploring battles and soldiers, ships and weapons, services and doctrines--as well as the social and cultural impact of the U.S. military at home and around the world. The Oxford Companion to American Military History boasts over 1,100 entries written by some 500 distinguished contributors. Readers will find Stephen E. Ambrose writing on the D-Day landing, James M. McPherson on the battle of Antietam, John Keegan on the changing experience of combat, Jean Bethke Elshtain on Jane Addams, Mark A. Noll on religion and war, and Robert M. Utley on Sitting Bull. Ranging from brief factual pieces to extensive essays, the entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; important battles from Bunker Hill, to the Alamo, Gettysburg, Little Bighorn, Normandy, and Khe Sanh; and military leaders from Washington to Grant, Lee, Eisenhower, MacArthur, Westmoreland, and Schwarzkopf. Moreover, the Companion goes well beyond the usual "drum and trumpet" coverage to examine a wide range of subjects you might not expect to find. There are entries on relevant acts of Congress and on diplomatic policies such as the Monroe Doctrine and the Marshall Plan; on peace and antiwar movements; on war in film, literature, music, and photography; and on war viewed through the disciplinary lenses of anthropology, economics, gender studies, and psychology. The result is the widest ranging account compiled in one volume of war, peace, and the U.S. military. With over a thousand authoritative and vividly written entries, maps of several major wars, extensive cross-referencing, lists of further readings, and an index, this volume is the first place to turn for information on our nation's military history.

The Routledge Handbook of American Military and Diplomatic History provides a comprehensive analysis of the major events, conflicts, and personalities that have defined and shaped the military history of the United States. This volume, The Colonial Period to 1877, illuminates the early period of American history, from the colonial warfare of the 17th century through the tribulations of Reconstruction. The chronologically organized sections each begin with an introductory chapter that provides a concise narrative of the period and highlights the scholarly debates and interpretive schools of thought in the historiography, followed by topical chapters on issues in the period. Topics covered include colonial encounters and warfare, the French and Indian War, the American Revolution, diplomacy in the early American republic, the War of 1812, westward expansion and conquest, the Mexican-American War, the Civil War, and Reconstruction. With authoritative and vividly written chapters by both leading scholars and new talent, this state-of-the-field handbook will be a go-to reference for every American history scholar's bookshelf.

The Routledge Handbook of U.S. Military and Diplomatic History provides a comprehensive analysis of the major events, conflicts, and personalities that have defined and shaped the military history of the United States in the modern period. Each chapter begins with  a brief introductory essay that provides context for the topical essays that follow by providing a concise narrative of the period, highlighting some of the scholarly debates and interpretive schools of thought as well as the current state of the academic field. Starting after the Civil War, the chapters chronicle America's rise toward empire, first at home and then overseas, culminating in September 11, 2001 and the War on Terror. With authoritative and vividly written chapters by both leading scholars and new talent, maps and illustrations, and lists of further readings, this state-of-the-field handbook will be a go-to reference for every American history scholar's bookshelf.

National security is always front-page news. A unique reference work now focuses on every aspect of this critical area, from computer security to antiterrorist measures. Was the Marshall Plan simply intended to guarantee the sale of U.S. exports and prevent Western European and Japanese independence? Why is U.S. support for Israel crucial to national security policy? Is China a threat? How should the United States combat terrorism? U.S. national security is no longer based on a natural defense involving traditional isolationism and friendly neighbors. With international trade an increasing goal of the United States, and the transportation of cheap products an ever-growing trend, U.S. interests outside national boundaries will continue to develop as will the need to provide security for those interests. This primer covers the Cold War and post-Cold War decades, identifies changing threats to national security, and introduces the agencies and individuals that shape national security policy. _ Charts the careers and accomplishments of well-known individuals in the field, from legendary FBI directors such as J. Edgar Hoover to far-sighted thinkers, planners, security advisors, and administrators _ Examines major events in the security, espionage, and counterespionage field, from U-2 overflights of the Soviet Union to the Aldrich Ames case and the latest spy scandals

This unique reference work covers the military history of the United States from the Revolution to the Gulf War. The Handbook of American Military History is comprehensive, easy to use, and supplies essential information on the social, technological, political, tactical, and strategic developments that have affected the evolution of the U.S.