Databases - Find Articles - Military and Veterans - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tile on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Useful Databases

Military and Government Collection
This provides full-text coverage of periodicals pertaining to all branches of the United States military. Some publications included are: Defence Studies, Military Technology, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Foreign Affairs, and Naval Forces.
Social Issues POWERSEARCH
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
America: History and Life
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
PTSDpubs
PTSDpubs, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. It includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health results of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Coverage begins in the 1870s and continues through the present.
Fold3
Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. The records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them. The Fold3 name comes from a traditional flag folding ceremony in which the third fold is made in honor and remembrance of veterans who served in defense of their country and to maintain peace throughout the world.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.