Subject Guide
About This Guide
This guide contains library resources supporting research in the Arts, Technology, and Emerging Communication (ATEC). Explore books and ebooks, journals, databases, and more.
Top Online Resources in ATEC
The library recommends the following databases for the latest research on topics in ATEC. They span an extensive gamut of disciplines: art, art history, computer science, social science, media studies, human-technology interactions, game studies, cultural studies, philosophy, and more.
Because no single resource can cover the myriad topics found under the ATEC umbrella, we recommend using more than one of the following for your research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
- Mass Media POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new windowThis searches the following databases simultaneously: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
- Project Muse (electronic journals from Johns Hopkins Press)This provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins in 1993.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowMillions of publications from full-text journal articles to authoritative books. Journals are guided by eminent editorial boards and articles are rigorously peer-reviewed. Books on ScienceDirect cover multiple subject collections across disciplines such as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
**Note: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals and books. Only the titles licensed are available.