AAC presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
This collection includes several hundred periodicals dating from the early 19th century through the early 20th century. It contains newspapers and magazines as well as reports and annuals from various African American organizations such as churches and educational and service institutions.
A collection of primary documents containing cultural life and history in the 19th century. This database is a repository of first hand reports of various events and important racial issues, written by African-Americans for African-Americans.
These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. They provide a useful digital archive of primary documents in American history.
This database provides access to a growing list of prison newspapers covering more than 200 years. Most of the titles were written by inmates. JSTOR worked with many research institutions to assemble and fund this collection.
This database contains the full text of hundreds of plays written from the mid-19th century to the present by hundreds of playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare or out of print. Information on related productions, theaters, and production companies, as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other related material is also available.
This full-text database is a collection of primary source material on history, literature, philosophy, religion, agriculture, and other aspects of American life in the 17th and 18th centuries. With thousands of primary documents, it also has supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society that provide hundreds of additional pamphlets, broadsides, and books.
This full-text database provides access to primary source material for the early decades of 19th-century America, including coverage of politics, war, economics, and social and cultural thought. Supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Society provide an additional thousand books, pamphlets, and broadsides spanning the inauguration of Thomas Jefferson to the Adams-Onis Treaty.
This collection of primary sources holds more than 100,000 books and pamphlets published in England and its colonies from 1473-1700. It is especially useful for research in the areas of English history, literature, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
This collection provides full-text access to digital images of hundreds of thousands of books published during the 18th Century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Everyday Life & Women in America includes primary source material from 1800-1920 related to the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. The collection features texts of rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It covers a variety of themes including popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, employment, and advice literature.
Gale Primary Resources is a research tool that allows researchers to cross-search multiple primary source databases using a single search box. It includes the following databases: Archives Unbound, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, and Sabin Americana 1500-1926 as well as the historical archives of several major periodicals (The Economist, Punch, The Times and more). Each database can also be searched individually.
This collection of primary sources is ideal for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Content spans from the nineteenth century to present and documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.
HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
Newspaper Source Plus provides full-text access to major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines from around the world. It also offers television and radio transcripts and daily updates from popular news sources.
A collection of primary-source full-text philosophy and literary works, Past Masters includes books, diaries, letters, and correspondence. Titles are usually comprised of the complete collected works of each individual author.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University’s Race Relations Department (1943-1970), including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. Explore key themes such as the desegregation of schools, industries, and public transport; the migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers; the role of the church in the civil rights movement; race riots and other racial tensions; and more.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. This collection contains full-text works about the Americas, including Latin America and Canada, published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Also included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western migration, Native Americans, military history, and more.
This Open Access resource pulls together stories spanning the period 1820-2020 that show how formerly enslaved Africans and their descendants in the land now known as the United States of America worked to generate individual and collective capital through owning land and creating communities.
The King Papers Project is a cooperative venture of Stanford University, the King Center, and the King Estate striving to publish the definitive fourteen-volume edition of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr.,a comprehensive collection of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts.
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Includes over 1.5 million items in approximately 700 collections digitized and maintained by The University of North Texas.
TAMI is a non-profit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas’ film heritage. The archive includes home movies, amateur films, advertisements, local television, and industrial and corporate productions, as well as Hollywood and internationally produced moving images of Texas.
UNT's digitized collections from their Oral History program feature topics such as World War II history, Texas political history; Texas business history; history of the New Deal in Texas; civil rights history; and immigration history.