Databases - Find Articles - African American Life - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Useful Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.
African American Communities
AAC presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
African American Historical Serials Collection
This collection includes several hundred periodicals dating from the early 19th century through the early 20th century. It contains newspapers and magazines as well as reports and annuals from various African American organizations such as churches and educational and service institutions.
African American Newspapers
A collection of primary documents containing cultural life and history in the 19th century. This database is a repository of first hand reports of various events and important racial issues, written by African-Americans for African-Americans.
America: History and Life
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
American Memory Historical Collection for the National Digital Library
These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. They provide a useful digital archive of primary documents in American history.
Black Drama, 1850 to Present
This database contains the full text of hundreds of plays written from the mid-19th century to the present by hundreds of playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare or out of print. Information on related productions, theaters, and production companies, as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other related material is also available.
Everyday Life & Women in America
Everyday Life & Women in America includes primary source material from 1800-1920 related to the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. The collection features texts of rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It covers a variety of themes including popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, employment, and advice literature.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Begin your legal research with HeinOnline--a collection providing the U.S. Code, U.S. Congressional Documents, the U.S. Serial Set, the U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, and the U. S. Statutes at Large. Regulatory titles include the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Federal agency documents, decisions, and appeals. Other assets include the U.S. Presidential Library, Foreign Relations of the United States, the Supreme Court Library, U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library, World Constitutions and other files which are always evolving. Provides the Texas State Package Constitutions, Texas Attorney General Opinions, Texas Session Laws, and State Statutes.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
How to search this database
Race Relations Abstracts
Race Relations Abstracts contains thousands of bibliographic records from various magazines and journals relevant to the study of race relations.
Race Relations in America
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by Fisk University’s Race Relations Department (1943-1970), including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. Explore key themes such as the desegregation of schools, industries, and public transport; the migration of African Americans from the rural South to urban centers; the role of the church in the civil rights movement; race riots and other racial tensions; and more.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography. This collection contains full-text works about the Americas, including Latin America and Canada, published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Also included are books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western migration, Native Americans, military history, and more.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.