It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Center for Health Statistics Guidelines for Analysis of Trends by National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.) Staff (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
R Companion to Elementary Applied Statistics by Christopher Hay-JahansThe R Companion to Elementary Applied Statistics includes traditional applications covered in elementary statistics courses as well as some additional methods that address questions that might arise during or after the application of commonly used methods. Beginning with basic tasks and computations with R, readers are then guided through ways to bring data into R, manipulate the data as needed, perform common statistical computations and elementary exploratory data analysis tasks, prepare customized graphics, and take advantage of R for a wide range of methods that find use in many elementary applications of statistics. Features: Requires no familiarity with R or programming to begin using this book. Can be used as a resource for a project-based elementary applied statistics course, or for researchers and professionals who wish to delve more deeply into R. Contains an extensive array of examples that illustrate ideas on various ways to use pre-packaged routines, as well as on developing individualized code. Presents quite a few methods that may be considered non-traditional, or advanced. Includes accompanying carefully documented script files that contain code for all examples presented, and more. R is a powerful and free product that is gaining popularity across the scientific community in both the professional and academic arenas. Statistical methods discussed in this book are used to introduce the fundamentals of using R functions and provide ideas for developing further skills in writing R code. These ideas are illustrated through an extensive collection of examples. About the Author: Christopher Hay-Jahans received his Doctor of Arts in mathematics from Idaho State University in 1999. After spending three years at University of South Dakota, he moved to Juneau, Alaska, in 2002 where he has taught a wide range of undergraduate courses at University of Alaska Southeast.
Publication Date: 2019-01-02
The SAGE Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by W. Paul Vogt (Editor); R. Burke JohnsonPacked with new definitions, terms, and graphics, this invaluable resource is an ideal reference for researchers and professionals in the field and provides everything students need to read and understand a research report, including elementary terms, concepts, methodology, and design definitions, as well as concepts from qualitative research methods and terms from theory, and philosophy. New to this edition: More than 500 new terms, definitions, and graphics provide readers with new, emerging, and important information. 15 new figures clarify terms and definitions. A new appendix lists the statistical assumptions of ANOVA, ANCOVA, regression, repeated measures ANOVA, mixed ANOVA, correlation, independent t test, paired samples t test, and chi-square for contingency tables, broadening the reach of the dictionary and making it more valuable for those new to quantitative research. Numerous additional updates include new terms for the health sciences, more on research designs, structural equation modelling, statistical techniques, and more measurement terms to increase the scope of the book.
Publication Date: 2015-11-11
The Joy of Statistics by Steve SelvinThe vast majority of statistics books delineate techniques used to analyze collected data. The Joy of Statistics is not one of these books. It consists of a series of 42 "short stories", each illustrating how statistical methods applied to data produce insight and solutions to the questions the data were collected to answer. Real-life and sometimes artificial data are used to demonstrate the often painless method and magic of statistics. In addition, the text contains brief histories of the evolution of statistical methods and a number of brief biographies of the most famous statisticians of the 20th century. Sprinkled throughout are statistical jokes, puzzles and traditional stories. The levels of statistical texts span a spectrum, from elementary to introductory to application to theoretical to advanced mathematical. This book explores a variety of statistical applications using graphs and plots, along with detailed and intuitive descriptions, and occasionally a bit of 10th grade mathematics. Examples of a few of the topics included among these "short stories" are pet ownership, gambling games such as roulette, blackjack and lotteries, as well as more serious subjects such as comparison of black/white infant mortality risk, infant birth weight and maternal age, estimation of coronary heart disease risk and racial differences in Hodgkin disease. The statistical descriptions of these topics are in many cases accompanied by easy to understand explanations labelled "How it Works."