A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
SocINDEX includes abstracts for thousands of core sociological journals and related areas of study dating back to 1895. The database also indexes books, monographs, conference papers, and other content sources. Additionally, it features more than 25,000 author profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database; profiles include biographical data and information, areas of expertise, and academic/professional focus of the authors.
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.