About: Databases
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Getting Started in Databases
- Introduction to APA PsycINFOWhile targeted for APA PsycINFO, this presentation provides examples of search strategies, refining and managing results, and other navigation tips that can be applied to most databases.
Research Databases with Psychology Coverage
- APA PsycNetAPA PsycNet contains eBooks published by the American Psychological Association.
- APA PsycTests®APA PsycTests provides descriptive summaries, full text (if available), and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. This repository includes unpublished tests, tests developed by psychologists for which no source documentation is available, and information about commercially published tests. Information on each test includes: data on the scope of the test, test implementation, a high-level overview of the test’s development, and reliability and validity data (when available). Coverage begins in 1910 and the database is updated monthly.
- Behavioral and Brain Sciences POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches following databases simultaneously: APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, ERIC, MEDLINE, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and SocINDEX.
- CogNet Library (cognitive and brain sciences)This provides full-text access to a selection of books and journals relating to cognitive and neurological sciences published by MIT Press.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsThis database abstracts and indexes international journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in the field of language sciences including the subjects of phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (1985-present)Mental Measurements Yearbook is a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
- PTSDpubsPTSDpubs, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. It includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health results of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Coverage begins in the 1870s and continues through the present.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- SCOPUSSCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science (Core Collection) includes access to these WoS databases:
-Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present
-Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
-Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975-present
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 1990-present and -Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present.
Select any or all of the databases to search simulateneously. WoS allows citation searching to determine which scholar is citing another scholar. Citation searching can also be used to determine how many times an article has been cited since it was published. This data is often used to determine the importance of the research and the pros and cons of the article.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods Online provides researchers of all levels with step-by-step instruction from the development of a strong research topic to the planning and execution of the research and analysis, as well as the reference materials, books, articles, case studies and datasets one might need along the way.
Even more source material can be found in SAGE Research Methods Cases and SAGE Research Methods Datasets. Case studies will give you real examples of research in action and the evidence produced, while clean datasets will help you find real data for research analysis and skill-building.
Cochrane Library - A Database of Synthesized Clinical Research
Cochrane Library is a suite of three databases that offer health care professionals and researchers a variety of systematic reviews and other synthesized research to inform evidence-based decisions and learning.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is both a leading database and monthly journal containing systematic reviews and their protocols, editorials, and supplements.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) contains bibliographic records and abstracts of trials from major databases like PubMed, Embase, CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov, KoreaMed, and WHO’s ICTRP, as well trials manually added by Cochrane Review Groups.
- Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA) enables searching of health care questions with answers supported by evidence summaries and conclusions from CDSR. All answers are based on a single Cochrane Review, and provide detail about the population, intervention(s), comparison(s), and outcomes.