Databases - Find Articles - Political Science, Public Policy & Public Administration - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Useful Databases

Social Issues POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
CQ Press Library (political science)
The CQ Press Library provides access to three resources:
• CQ Researcher Plus Archive--Authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923
• CQ Magazine--A weekly news magazine on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983.
• Politics in America--Guide to politics with authoritative information on each member of Congress and their districts.
Digital National Security Archive (foreign policy)
ProQuest's Digital National Security Archive online contains a large collection of primary documents on U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. It includes declassified documents that led to U.S. policy decisions and other collections on the organization and operations of the U.S. intelligence community.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) contains a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
Past Masters (Full Text Humanities) This link opens in a new window
Concentrating on primary sources in philosophy, religion, and literature, Past Masters gathers the books, diaries, letters, and correspondence of major intellects from across the centuries. Titles are typically comprised of the complete collected works of each individual author. Users may conduct searches or browse materials by title, subject (e.g., Women Writers, Religious Studies, or Continental Philosophy), or language (e.g., English, Latin, Greek, or Russian).
Political Handbook of the World Online
Political Handbook of the World provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Each country profile includes key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications.
SAGE Research Methods Online
SAGE Research Methods Online is a comprehensive resource for gathering information and assistance on research methodologies, from basic terminology to complex interactive maps depicting the relationships among different types of research methods. Access hundreds of online handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book," journal articles, instructional videos, podcasts, and interactive research methods tools.
SCOPUS
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.