It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to inform students, faculty, and our community of the many types of resources and search methods available to facilitate the study of Photography, be it scholarly research or personal interest.
The books, journals, databases, multimedia, and websites included here will cover artists, image archives, theory, lighting and lab processing in photojournalism, commercial, and fine art photography. Use the Sources tabs to find search tips and recommended reading.
Art and Architecture Complete includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books. It also contains abstracts for almost 800 academic journals as well as a collection of more than 63,000 images.
ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. It features high resolution zooming, printing and customizable, shareable image sets. Usage rights are cleared for educational use, and teaching resources like surveys, presentations and curriculum guides are available as well.
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art database covering Western and non-Western visual art and includes current articles and bibliographies. The resource also includes the full text of Grove Dictionary of Art and is part of the larger Oxford Art Online database, which contains the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
LinkedIn Learning is now available to all currently enrolled students as well as current UT Dallas faculty and staff. This service is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology, and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. With over 12,000 courses and an average of 60 courses added per month there is something for everyone.