A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers social issues such as capital punishment, immigration, and marijuana use. This research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes by providing differing views with the goal of helping learners to develop critical-thinking skills and to draw their own conclusions about issues. Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is also recommended for debaters and includes frequently studied and debated issues, pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, and infographics.
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
Can't find it? Contact ILL!
Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.