About: Databases
The following resources grant access to important scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and ebooks ideal for researching topics in materials science and engineering.
Databases - Materials Science and Engineering
- Engineering POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new windowThis POWERSEARCH searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Science & Technology Source, Computer Source, Engineering Source, General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson), INSPEC
(engineering, computer science, physics), INSPEC Archive - Science Abstracts 1898-1968, and Science & Technology Collection
. - INSPEC (engineering and physics)This database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production, and mechanical engineering. Includes Inspec Archive, which provides abstracts of articles from 1898 through 1968.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology OnlineAccess thousands of articles, dictionary terms, and research updates in all areas of science and technology. AccessScience also includes thousands of biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a large reference source containing data and other information on multiple areas of Chemistry.
- IEEE XploreIEEE Xplore, produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is ideal for conducting research in the field of electronics, electrical engineering, telecommunications, wireless communications, and computer engineering. It provides access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings; IEEE-Wiley ebooks; as well as current IEEE standards (excluding "draft" standards).
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present)ISI’'s Science Citation Index Expanded provides access to thousands of articles from journals in the natural, life, physical, mathematical, and engineering sciences. Each article contains full indexing with abstracts as well as complete bibliographies, allowing for cited reference searching as well. Full-text links are provided for articles which are part of the library'’s collection.
- SciFinderSciFinder is the world's premier database for chemical literature, containing millions of searchable records derived from thousands of international journals published from the early 1900s to the present. In addition to journal articles, SciFinder also indexes chemical patents, dissertations, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Already have an account? Click here to sign in. - SCOPUSSCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
