BBS Liaison Librarian
About This Guide
In this guide, we will learn where to begin research on the topic of professionalism in healthcare. Our goal is to familiarize you with the essential types of research materials available at McDermott Library.
Use the tabs in the menu to navigate through the guide, finding recommended materials under Sources, keyword strategy and ways of increasing relevance of results under Search Tips, and your library support channels under the Help! tab. Browse to the bottom of this page for links to other useful guides on topics like citation and understanding scholarly / peer reviewed publications.
Disclaimer: This guide is not official course content for HLTH 3300 or developed by your Instructor.
Top 5 Recommended Sources
- Medicine and Health POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches all of the following databases simultaneously: Alt HealthWatch, APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, CINAHL, General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Health Source Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.
- PubMedPubMed provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature and covers the literature back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles at other journal websites are provided for many of the citations within PubMed.
- SCOPUSSCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
- Gale OneFile: Health and MedicineGale OneFile: Health and Medicine provides access to a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
- Management POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, Business Abstracts with Full Text, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News, Small Business Reference Center, and Vocational and Career Collection.