A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
The Web of Science (Core Collection) includes access to these WoS databases:
-Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present
-Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present
-Arts and Humanities Citation Index 1975-present
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present
-Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 1990-present and -Emerging Sources Citation Index 2015-present.
Select any or all of the databases to search simulateneously. WoS allows citation searching to determine which scholar is citing another scholar. Citation searching can also be used to determine how many times an article has been cited since it was published. This data is often used to determine the importance of the research and the pros and cons of the article.