Databases - Find Articles - Economics - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tile on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Useful Databases

Economics POWERSEARCH

This POWERSEARCH searches all of these databases simultaneously: Business Source Complete, EconLit, Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), and SocINDEX.

Help searching this database
EconLit (economics)
Produced by the American Economic Association, this database provides links to full text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and more.

Help searching this database
Economist Historical Archive 1842-2020
The weekly news magazine, The Economist, presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-text content of thousands of issues is available and also includes exportable financial tables. The Supplements, Special Reports and Surveys that appear in The Economist are also included as part of the archive.
Making of the Modern World
This database features the full text of thousands of books on economics and business published between 1453 and 1914. The collection includes world history, political science, philosophy, business, economics, law, and women's studies from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature and the Seligman Collection.
SCOPUS

SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management.
For best results, it is suggested by Elsevier to use Chrome, Safari or Edge as your browser.
When using Chrome, it is recommended to download the Scopus Document Download Manager extension.
Social Issues POWERSEARCH
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.