It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Recommended Databases on Women in Modern European Society
An index (with abstracts) to journals published worldwide in many languages. Fields include all branches of world history, including, political, diplomatic, religious, economic, social, cultural, and military history. Many full-text articles are included. (NOTE: For U.S. and Canadian history, use America: History and Life.)
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
This POWERSEARCH searches the following databases simultaneously: America: History & Life, Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective, Historical Abstracts, Humanities Full Text, Military & Government Collection, and Social Sciences Abstracts.
An international index with abstracts to books and scholarly journals of philosophy and related fields written after 1939, it covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines such as law, religion, science, history, and education. It is one of the most important databases for philosophy.
Can't find it? Contact ILL!
Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.