Databases - Find Articles - Women's and Gender Studies - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Suggested Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
How to search this database
Social Issues POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.

Women's Suffrage
The Women’s Suffrage Collection includes full text of historical documents, newspapers, and books related to the struggle for women’s suffrage, women’s rights, and the temperance movement dating from roughly 1812 through 1920.
Everyday Life & Women in America
Everyday Life & Women in America includes primary source material from 1800-1920 related to the study of American social, cultural, and popular history. The collection features texts of rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides from the 19th and early 20th centuries. It covers a variety of themes including popular culture, social history, family life, education, race, class, employment, and advice literature.
Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online
The Gerritsen Collection is an electronic collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and women's rights.

Gender Studies POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Gender Studies Powersearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Gender Studies Database, Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), PsycARTICLES, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, and Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
Gender: Identity and Social Change
This collection of primary sources is ideal for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics. Content spans from the nineteenth century to present and documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations.
Gender Studies Database
This database includes journal articles, conference papers, theses, dissertations, books, and book chapters along with links to preselected websites related to gender studies.
Help searching this database
LGBT Magazine Archive
The LGBT Magazine Archive features periodicals related to LGBT+ interests and chronicles more than 60 years of the community’s history, culture, and arts. Noted publications include Gay Times and The Advocate, which is the oldest surviving continuously published title of its type in the United States. More specialist magazines and newsletters are also included and are digitized from cover to cover in full color with coverage dating back to 1954. There is also subject material related to sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.