It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Recommended Databases for Theatre Research
Here are a few good choices to begin finding articles, reviews, and criticism. Some also include scripts and performance videos.
Drama Online is a great resource for researching plays and theatrical works. The database provides a growing collection of historical and contemporary plays as well as the audio editions of various works. It includes reference tools for students and faculty members.
A strong resource for researching plays and theatrical works, Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The content includes audio performances and streaming video.
This database contains detailed information on thousands of theatrical figures, plays, theatres, major productions, and production companies in Canada and the United States, including tens of thousands of images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.
This database contains the full text of hundreds of plays written from the mid-19th century to the present by hundreds of playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare or out of print. Information on related productions, theaters, and production companies, as well as selected playbills, production photographs and other related material is also available.
Asian American Drama brings together hundreds of plays by dozens of playrights beginning with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The plays have relevance to the study of literature, drama, Asian-American studies, history, culture, and more.