Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:
Computer Science -- Artificial Intelligence
QA 335*
*NOTE: The topic of artificial intelligence usage in various fields of production, law, education, medicine, and agriculture have Call Numbers that reflect that subject matter. Please make sure to use the catalog's MAP IT function to location where a hardcopy title is in the Library.
Hardcopy books in the sciences will be located on the 4th floor of the library (see call number range above). Online books can be found by searching the Library Catalog or by browsing the Ebook Collections.
How to Find Relevant Information
The Library Catalog has a plethora of relevant research materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks are a great way to learn terminology, important people, places or events, and related concepts when exploring a new topic.
Use the Library Catalog tab to search print and electronic reference materials or visit the general reference databases page.
Here is a books-only search for your convenience! Try title, author, subject, or keywords.
Selected Titles of Relevancy
Artificial Intelligence by
Over the coming decades, Artificial Intelligence will profoundly impact the way we live, work, wage war, play, seek a mate, educate our young, and care for our elderly. It is likely to greatly increase our aggregate wealth, but it will also upend our labor markets, reshuffle our social order,and strain our private and public institutions. Eventually it may alter how we see our place in the universe, as machines pursue goals independent of their creators and outperform us in domains previously believed to be the sole dominion of humans. Whether we regard them as conscious or unwitting,revere them as a new form of life or dismiss them as mere clever appliances, is beside the point. They are likely to play an increasingly critical and intimate role in many aspects of our lives.The emergence of systems capable of independent reasoning and action raises serious questions about just whose interests they are permitted to serve, and what limits our society should place on their creation and use. Deep ethical questions that have bedeviled philosophers for ages will suddenlyarrive on the steps of our courthouses. Can a machine be held accountable for its actions? Should intelligent systems enjoy independent rights and responsibilities, or are they simple property? Who should be held responsible when a self-driving car kills a pedestrian? Can your personal robot holdyour place in line, or be compelled to testify against you? If it turns out to be possible to upload your mind into a machine, is that still you? The answers may surprise you.
ISBN: 9780190602383Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Artificial Intelligence Methods and Applications in Computer Engineering by
The development of artificial intelligence (AI) involves the creation of computer systems that can do activities that would ordinarily require human intelligence, such as visual perception, speech recognition, decision making, and language translation. Through increasingly complex programming approaches, it has been transforming and advancing the discipline of computer science. The Handbook of Research on AI Methods and Applications in Computer Engineering illuminates how today's computer engineers and scientists can use AI in real-world applications. It focuses on a few current and emergent AI applications, allowing a more in-depth discussion of each topic. Covering topics such as biomedical research applications, navigation systems, and search engines, this premier reference source is an excellent resource for computer scientists, computer engineers, IT managers, students and educators of higher education, librarians, researchers, and academicians.
ISBN: 9781668469378Publication Date: 2023-01-30
Fundamental Issues of Artificial Intelligence by
This volume offers a look at the fundamental issues of present and future AI, especially from cognitive science, computer science, neuroscience and philosophy. This work examines the conditions for artificial intelligence, how these relate to the conditions for intelligence in humans and other natural agents, as well as ethical and societal problems that artificial intelligence raises or will raise. The key issues this volume investigates include the relation of AI and cognitive science, ethics of AI and robotics, brain emulation and simulation, hybrid systems and cyborgs, intelligence and intelligence testing, interactive systems, multi-agent systems, and super intelligence. Based on the 2nd conference on "Theory and Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence" held in Oxford, the volume includes prominent researchers within the field from around the world.
ISBN: 9783319264837Publication Date: 2016-06-15
Rights for Robots by
Bringing a unique perspective to the burgeoning ethical and legal issues surrounding the presence of artificial intelligence in our daily lives, the book uses theory and practice on animal rights and the rights of nature to assess the status of robots. Through extensive philosophical and legal analyses, the book explores how rights can be applied to nonhuman entities. This task is completed by developing a framework useful for determining the kinds of personhood for which a nonhuman entity might be eligible, and a critical environmental ethic that extends moral and legal consideration to nonhumans. The framework and ethic are then applied to two hypothetical situations involving real-world technology--animal-like robot companions and humanoid sex robots. Additionally, the book approaches the subject from multiple perspectives, providing a comparative study of legal cases on animal rights and the rights of nature from around the world and insights from structured interviews with leading experts in the field of robotics. Ending with a call to rethink the concept of rights in the Anthropocene, suggestions for further research are made. An essential read for scholars and students interested in robot, animal and environmental law, as well as those interested in technology more generally, the book is a ground-breaking study of an increasingly relevant topic, as robots become ubiquitous in modern society. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/ISBN, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9780429288159Publication Date: 2020-10-26
Springer Handbook of Automation by
This handbook incorporates new developments in automation. It also presents a widespread and well-structured conglomeration of new emerging application areas, such as medical systems and health, transportation, security and maintenance, service, construction and retail as well as production or logistics. The handbook is not only an ideal resource for automation experts but also for people new to this expanding field.
ISBN: 9783030967284Publication Date: 2023-06-18
Concept Exploration With Credo
Credo pushes online reference further, offering full-text articles and visual aids like videos and mind maps to help you explore topics and their related concepts in depth.