A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tile on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Art & Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, and Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
Grove Art Online is a scholarly art database covering Western and non-Western visual art and includes current articles and bibliographies. The resource also includes the full text of Grove Dictionary of Art and is part of the larger Oxford Art Online database, which contains the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.