Databases - Find Articles - Ageism / Age Discrimination - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large, easy-to-use, multidisciplinary collection with many full-text articles dating from before 1900s. Search thousands of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals from a variety of subjects. Your search can also be limited to full-text and peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles.
CINAHL (nursing)
This database provides indexing from journals related to nursing and allied health professions.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.

Note: As of August 1st, 2024, ARTSTOR is fully incorporated into JSTOR.
How to search this database
Management POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Bloomberg Businessweek Archive, Business Abstracts with Full Text, Business Source Complete, Regional Business News, Small Business Reference Center, and Vocational and Career Collection.
Medicine and Health POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
Searches all of the following databases simultaneously: Alt HealthWatch, APA PsycARTICLES, APA PsycINFO, CINAHL, General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Health Source Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE, and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.
SCOPUS
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.
Social Issues POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
The Social Issues PowerSearch searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, and PAIS International.
Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text includes articles from hundreds of publications and covers a range of interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, political sciences, psychology, and more. Indexing is also included for almost 800 periodical. Coverage begins in 1972; for articles published between 1907 and 1972, use the Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective.
SocINDEX
SocINDEX includes abstracts for thousands of core sociological journals and related areas of study dating back to 1895. The database also indexes books, monographs, conference papers, and other content sources. Additionally, it features more than 25,000 author profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database; profiles include biographical data and information, areas of expertise, and academic/professional focus of the authors.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.