Skip to main content

Search Tips: Discover (Articles, Books & More)

An introduction to searching the library catalog, discover (articles, books & more), or course reserves

What is in Discover

Discover (Articles, Books & More) provides one convenient place to search the library catalog (Books, Ebooks, Journals, Media) along with articles and other content from many of the online databases.

Simple Search

The Discover (Articles, Books & More) Simple Search defaults to Keywords anywhere. It will accept any combination of terms: keyword/topic, subject, title, author, and so on. Discover (Articles, Books & More) will search for the same materials as the Library Catalog; PLUS it will also search the content from online databases that includes articles from newspapers, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.

For the most sweeping search of nearly all of the libraries collections in one place - books/ebooks, journals/ejournals, media, AND articles - use Discover (Articles, Books & More).

Additional search tips:

  • The library catalog assumes that you are searching for all the words you type unless OR or NOT is specified between the words and phrases.
  • For an exact phrase search, surround your terms in quotation marks, e.g., "United States of America" (~8,000 matches) rather than United States of America (~36,000 matches). Alternatively, click the dropdown menu and change it from Keywords anywhere to Exact phrase for the same effect.
  • For a Title search, click the dropdown menu and change it from Keywords anywhere to Title. When inputting a title, be sure to omit any initial article (e.g., "A," "An," or "The").
  • You may include wildcard characters in your search for greater flexibility:
    • ?—enter a question mark to perform a single character wildcard search. For example, type wom?n to search for records that contain the strings womanwomen, and so forth.
    • *—enter an asterisk to perform a multiple character wildcard search. For example, type cultur* to search for records that contain the strings cultureculturalculturally, and so forth.
       

  • In order to search the maximum number of databases possible, Sign in to your account (link in the upper right corner). Certain journal databases and their articles will not become accessible until you Sign in to your account in advance.
  • For additional help with search term operators and advanced search features, see the Primo (Library Catalog) online help guide.

Advanced Search

The Advanced Search of Discover (Articles, Books & More) provides a search of library holdings with more guidance in the form of dropdown menu options such as keywords, title, author/creator, (Library of Congress) subject, ISBN, ISSN and more.

 


Note: In order to search the maximum number of databases possible, Sign in to your account (link in the upper right corner). Certain journal databases and their articles will not become accessible until you Sign in to your account in advance.

Get Help with Ask A Librarian

Need more help? Click the Ask a Librarian link!