It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For research or leisure, the Library has a collection of streaming video, select titles in audiobook format, and films on DVD (Room 2.408).
Browse the collections on McDermott Library's Streaming Media page or try a targeted search using the Library Catalog tab - search with titles, subjects or names of directors and actors, then use the Resource Type search limiter to restrict your results to DVD/Media.
Here is a DVD/Media-only search bar for your convenience!
JoVE: A One-of-a-Kind Video Journal
The Journal of Visual Experiments presents high quality, step-by-step video of lab methods along with a peer reviewed manuscript. It's the next best thing to hands-on experience in physical and life sciences!
The library must approve new selections from the Kanopy database in advance. Faculty members may request Kanopy titles for classroom use by email firstname.lastname@example.org or Davin.Pate@utdallas.edu. Students should contact their faculty member for access to streaming media or checkout DVDs from the Main Services Desk or Library Multimedia Services.
Currently, the library will subscribe to streaming films only for online courses if the film is available at a reasonable cost.
To show a film in class, faculty members teaching in-person or hybrid classes should borrow a physical DVD copy through the library and contact University Media Services who will provide the equipment on a scheduled day. If there is not a physical copy of the film, the library will attempt to purchase if time and funding permits. If faculty require the student to watch the film outside of class, the physical copy of the film should be put on Media Course Reserve.
While the McDermott library will make reasonable efforts to acquire materials required for coursework, the library may not honor all requests due to budgetary reasons.
This streaming video service includes documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and instructional films. It supports keyword searching as well as browsing by categories like Arts, Business, Education, Foreign Films, Global Studies & Languages, Health, Media & Communications, Movies and TV, Science, and Social Studies.
Access Overdrive, an online library of books that can be downloaded to your Kindle, Nook, iPad, smartphone or other electronic device. Collection contains mostly leisure reading titles with a small selection of academic texts. Includes downloadable audiobooks.
A collection of hundreds of books, with subjects ranging from literary classics, biographies, and histories to philosophy, religion, and children's stories. Many of these books can also be followed using the texts on screen.