It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
This POWERSEARCH searches the following databases simultaneously: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, PAIS Index, and Sociological Abstracts.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) contains a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
SAGE Research Methods Online is a comprehensive resource for gathering information and assistance on research methodology, from basic terminology to complex interactive maps depicting the relationships among different types of research methods. Access hundreds of online handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias, the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book," journal articles, and instructional videos. It includes links to free statistical software, directories, information on research ethics, and social networking sites for academics.
SCOPUS provides scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in the natural sciences and social sciences, as well as business and management. For access, click the building icon in the upper right corner and enter "university of texas at dallas" when prompted for organization or email.