It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find articles in the discipline of philosophy, select from the list of recommended article databases below or go to the Philosophy and Religion databases page. If you wish to broaden your search, select a resource from the full A-Z Databaseslist.
This searches the following databases simultaneously: Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Philosopher's Index, and Religion and Philosophy Collection.
Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC, also known as Philosophy Online) accesses numerous leading scholarly journals in philosophy, critical analysis, phenomenology, ethics, and related philosophical disciplines.
**NOTE: This collection does not allow access to ALL the publisher's journals. Only the titles licensed are available.
An international index with abstracts to books and scholarly journals of philosophy and related fields written after 1939, it covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines such as law, religion, science, history, and education. It is one of the most important databases for philosophy.
Offers unique access to scholarly journals, primary sources (e.g., pamphlets), and ebooks in a wide array of subjects: the arts, history, philosophy, business, ecology and botany, general science, language and literature, and music. Most journals are archival: that is, complete, unbroken runs of a majority of the titles are available, except for a "moving wall" of the last 3 to 5 years. Use the Advanced Search to search all literature available and narrow by discipline or journal, or browse titles in alphabetical order, by subject, or by publisher. Coverage spans as far back as 1665 for thousands of titles.
A primary-source, full-text database, Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of an individual author, and can include diaries, letters, and correspondence. Past Masters' primary focus is on Western philosophy (classical, medieval, continental, British, and American), but it includes some English letters, women writers, religious studies, social history and history of science, and reference works. Some works are presented in their native language, untranslated, while most are translated or in English.
Can't find it? Contact ILL!
Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Books and DVDs are typically delivered in 5 to 10 business days; a PDF of an article can be emailed within 1 or 2 business days.