HathiTrust is a large digital library bringing together materials from sources including Google Books, the Internet Archive, and other commercial digitization projects. This resource is being expanded daily and provides information on more than 10 million volumes with more than a third of these available for full text access and download (primarily books and journals published before 1923 and U.S. Government publications).

The MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching) collection is provided by the California State University Center for Distributed Learning and consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.

Free, open, online lectures and class syllabi offered virtually through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. MIT OpenCourseWare covers a wide variety of academic subjects. Most courses contain tests, notes, and syllabi.

Discover, create, and connect with OER with OER Commons. Browse subject areas, grade levels, material types, and collections for OERs. Create OERs with OER Commons' publishing tools that help instructors build lesson plans and course and publish them using a Creative Commons license that allows anyone to re-edit, remix, reuse, and share and edit resources.

Provides free online (low cost to print) professional, peer reviewed textbooks and supporting material that are also customizable

Thousands of resources on the arts and sciences, free to use.

a place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, etc.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is an all-digital library that aggregates metadata — or information describing an item — and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

A list of free (but not open) copyrighted textbooks and other materials from the Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources.

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.

A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google Docs making it easy to access, browse and download.

Provides a search engine for free classes and course materials (e.g. books, tests, worksheets, lesson plans) created in Europe. It includes materials in international languages as well as in English.

Search over 1000 free courses, interactive content, video and more; use OpenLearn to watch and learn about the world around you, browse subjects to explore new topics, study free courses, improve skills for employment, explore TV, radio, or online programs.

Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.

The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) is an effort to create the first large-scale online database of university course syllabi as a platform for the development of new research, teaching, and administrative tools. We have this opportunity because, to date, syllabi are almost completely unexploited resources. They are treated as ephemera of the teaching enterprise rather than as its DNA.

The College Open Textbooks Collaborative, a collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, is focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges.

Open textbooks offered professional textbooks for teachers and students to freely use, adapt, and distribute the material, as well as downloaded for no cost, or printed inexpensively.

Free, open online lectures and class syllabi offered through virtual recordings through Yale College.

A library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

SOL*R includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas. Resources range from open textbooks, individual learning activities and tools, all the way to full programs.

Language related Open Education Resources collected by the University of Texas. Offers many language resources in Mandarin Chinese, Arabic, Hindi, Portuguese, Spanish, and several others. Learn a new language, or brush up on that language you took years ago.