Databases - Find Articles - Healthcare Studies - LibGuides at University of Texas at Dallas

About: Databases

A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.

While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.

Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.

Notable Databases

APA PsycInfo
PsycInfo, hosted by the American Psychological Association (APA), contains a wide breadth of research in the behavioral and social sciences. It also includes literature for related fields, such as medicine, nursing, physiology, and more.
CINAHL (nursing)
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library (healthcare)
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making that includes reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
This resource provides access to full-text literature on a variety of healthcare topics, such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, and more.
PubMed
PubMed provides access to more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Many of these citations also include access to full-text articles through the journals we subscribe to.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
We have access to a select number of titles through ScienceDirect, which covers multiple subjects across various disciplines such as physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
This databases provides resources in the field of physical education, covering a wide range of topics from physical and health education, kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and more.

Can't find it? Contact ILL!

Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.