Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Using Web of Science: Outside Resources for Journal Rankings

Generate journal citation reports online using the Web of Knowledge database.

Sources for Journal Rankings

For an overview of the topic, see the Definition tab. See the Generating JCRs Using Web of Knowledge tab for a quick tutorial on using the library's database.

  • Eigenfactor.org
    • A free and searchable database, Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is included in Journal Citation Reports.  It continues to be listed here for use on its own.
    • The website includes an interactive mapping function that shows the relationship of branches of science to each other based on the size of the field and the citations generated by the journals of the field. Rather than the "soft" categories used in Journal Citation Reports, where a journal may be located in one or more categories, Eigenfactor uses a hard category where a journal can only fit in one discipline.
    • See the FAQ for more information.
  • Harzing.com
  • Google Scholar Metrics
    • Ranks publications in Google Scholar by analyzing the last five years of journal articles from websites that follow Google's inclusion guidelines as well as conference articles and preprints from a small number of manually identified sources. Excludes publications with less than 100 articles during the five-year period and those with no citations. The metrics provided are the h-index, h-core, h-median, h5-index, h5-core, and h5-median.
  • SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)
    • A free source that uses data from Elsevier's SCOPUS database. Includes a "compare" feature that compares journal citation among countries. There is also a "map generator" that shows citation relationships by country.

Thanks to ASU Libraries for assembling the list of alternative sources for journal rankings.

Additional Resources

Additional Resources on Journal Citation Reports, H-Index, Journal Rankings, and Publishing: