It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected by a poll of more than 180 Gothic specialists (creative writers, professors, critics, and Gothic Studies program developers at universities), the fifty-three original works discussed in Twenty-First-Century Gothic represent the most impressive Gothic novels written around the world between 2000-2010. The essays in this volume discuss the merits of these novels, highlighting the influences and key components that make them worthy of inclusion. Many of the pioneer voices of Gothic Studies, as well as other key critics of the field, have all contributed new essays to this volume, including David Punter, Jerrold Hogle, Karen F. Stein, Marie Mulvey-Roberts, Mary Ellen Snodgrass, Tony Magistrale, Don D'Ammassa, Mavis Haut, Walter Rankin, James Doig, Laurence A. Rickels, Douglass H. Thomson, Sue Zlosnik, Carol Margaret Davision, Ruth Bienstock Anolik, Glennis Byron, Judith Wilt, Bernice Murphy, Darrell Schweitzer, and June Pulliam. The guide includes a preface by one of the world's leading authorities on the weird and fantastic, S. T. Joshi. Sharing their knowledge of how traditional Gothic elements and tensions surface in a changed way within a contemporary novel, the contributors enhance the reader's dark enjoyment, emotional involvement, and appreciation of these works. These essays show not only how each of these novels are Gothic but also how they advance or change Gothicism, making the works both irresistible for readers and establishing their place in the Gothic canon.
More than 2,300 works of fiction and poetry are discussed, each cross-referenced to other works with similar or contrasting themes. Winners and nominees for major awards are identified. Books that are part of a series are flagged, with a complete list of books in series included in a final chapter, along with a comprehensive list of awards, of translations, and of young adult and children's books.
Includes over 1,500 new entries and can be used as a companion to the first Guide. New individual author studies include sections on Stephen King and Edith Wharton. A special section identifies anthologies of Gothic fiction.
Designed as a cumulative supplement to Guide to the Gothic (Scarecrow Press, 1984) and Guide to the Gothic II (Scarecrow Press, 1995), Guide to the Gothic III offers researchers and students at any level a comprehensive bibliographical survey of Gothic scholarship and criticism in the 20th and 21st centuries. Over 1,600 new annotated entries covering 1994-2003 are combined with over 4,000 entries from the previous two volumes.
Alphabetically arranged, gives synopses and details on horror short stories, novels, and films.
Covering every aspect of the genre, this book presents more than 400 of the best, most original, historically significant and even "worst" works of horror from film and literature. The heart-thumping entries are alphabetically listed, each laid out as a capsule review, providing a plot summary along with a critical evaluation of each work's contribution to the horror genre. Both a guidebook and history of the macabre, this is the first book to provide a critical commentary and reference for all horror fans.
The Victorian fin de siecle: the era of Decadence, The Yellow Book, the New Woman, the scandalous Oscar Wilde, the Empire on which the sun never set. This heady brew was caught nowhere better than in the revival of the Gothic tale in the late Victorian age, where the undead walked and evil curses, foul murder, doomed inheritance and sexual menace played on the stretched nerves of the new mass readerships. This anthology collects together some of the most famous examples of the Gothic tale in the 1890s, with stories by Arthur Conan Doyle, Vernon Lee, Henry James and Arthur Machen, as well as some lesser known yet superbly chilling tales from the era. The introduction explores the many reasons for the Gothic revival, and how it spoke to the anxieties of the moment.
To what extent did the Gothic haunt the nineteenth century? Victorian Gothic seeks to answer this question as it introduces the reader to a timely revision of notions of the Gothic in all its manifestations. The Gothic is found to haunt all aspects of Victorian literature and culture. Moreover, Victorian Gothic connects its disparate areas of research in returning repeatedly to the question of the constitution of the subject, in a study of the Victorians from the 1830s to the 1890s.
Brimming with tales of terror, suspense, and the uncanny, this work offers a collection devoted to the best of the Gothic genre. Each story contains the common elements of the Gothic tale: a warped sense of time, a claustrophobic setting, a link to archaic modes of thought, and the impression of a descent into disintegration. Yet taken together, they reveal the progression of the genre from stories of feudal villains amid crumbling ruins to a greater level of sophistication in which writers brought the Gothic tale out of its medieval setting, and placed it in the contemporary world. Bringing together the work of such writers as Eudora Welty, Thomas Hardy, Edgar Allan Poe, William Faulkner, Arthur Conan Doyle, Joyce Carol Oates, and Jorge Luis Borges, The Oxford Book of Gothic Tales presents a wide array of the sinister and unsettling for all lovers of ghost stories, fantasy, and horror.
This volume presents annotations for the major and many of the minor science fiction reference volumes published. Books are grouped in sections by subject, then listed alphabetically by main entry. Each entry provides complete bibliographical data; a description of the book's organization, content, and purpose; and an evaluation of how well the author met his or her stated objective. Volumes are rated and compared works with other volumes, where appropriate. This edition includes 150 new entries and many previously included entries have been reworked, sometimes extensively.
The "Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and a styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political concerns for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 17 sets comprising this series. To see listings of writers for any volume in this section, go to the "Scribner Writers Series section online at www.gale.com/scribners. J.K. Rowling, Peter Straub, Anne McCaffrey--these are among the many widely-read authors in fantasy and horror genres covered in this addition to Scribner's 1985 two-volume set. Essays written by scholars--yet accessible to the general reader and student--treat both writers who have risen to prominence since the 1985 edition, and those whose careers have continued since original coverage, such as Stephen King, Ursula K. LeGuin, and Harlan Ellison.
Weird and Gothic horrors such as demons, ghosts, and spectors are brought forth in this encyclopedia. The long history of the supernatural is seen in entry topics on ancient evil, Apuleius, Lucian, and the supernatural in Greek literature. The majority of the encyclopedia's entries treat authors, themes and works of the 19th through 21st centuries, including Alexander Dumas, Charles Baudelaire, and Daphne du Maurier, among other writers of Gothic fiction, and recent writers such as Katherine Dunn, Shirley Jackson, and A.R. Morlan. Works from television and film, and demons and other aspects of the supernatural in various religions and national literatures are also described. Most entries conclude with an annotated bibliography. Indexes of fictional characters, motifs, and a general index are included.
Vampires, zombies, ghosts, and ghoulies: there are more things going bump in the night than ever. So how do you wend your way through all of them to find the ones that interest a particular reader? RA expert Spratford updates her advisory to include the latest in monsters and the macabre, including * Lists of recommended titles, authors, and sub-genres, all cross-referenced for quick reference * Tips for effectively practicing horror RA, with interview questions for gauging a reader's interests * An expanded resources section, with an overview addressing the current state of horror lit, and suggestions of how to dig deeper As both an introductory guide for librarians just dipping their toes into the brackish water of scary fiction, as well as a fount of new ideas for horror-aware reference staff, Spratford's book is infernally appropriate.
From Anne Rice's best-selling novels to our recurrent interest in vampires and the occult, the Gothic has an unyielding hold on our imagination. But what exactly does "Gothic" mean? How does it differ from "terror" or "horror," and where do its parameters lie? Through a wide range of brief essays written by leading scholars, The Handbook of the Gothic, second edition, provides a virtual encyclopedia of things Gothic. From the Demonic to the Uncanny, the Bronte sisters to Melville, this volume plots the characteristics of Gothic's vastly different schools and manifestations, offering a comprehensive guide of Gothic writing and culture.
Among the many topics and figures discussed are: American Gothic, the Bronte Sisters, Angela Carter, the Demonic, Female Gothic, Ghost Stories, Film, Washington Irving, Henry James, H. P. Lovecraft, Madness, Herman Melville, Monstrosity, Orientalism, Post-Colonial Gothic, Anne Rice, Romanticism, Sado-Masochism, Bram Stoker, the Sublime, the Uncanny, Vampires, and Werewolves.
This second edition of The Handbook of the Gothic contains over twenty new entries on Gothic writers such as Stephen King and Daphne Du Maurier, new genres such as African American Gothic, new terms like Gothic Graphic Novel and Comic, and a new Preface which situates the handbook within current studies of the Gothic.