Job & Company Resources in Engineering, Computer Science & Technology
This guide lists resources at the library for employment seekers in the CS and engineering disciplines. Includes detailed instructions on how you can identify companies by industry in a specific location using library databases.
One of the best-selling resume books of all time and a trusted resource for job-seekers for nearly three decades, this edition of The Damn Good Resume Guide has been completely revised and updated for today's marketplace. The Shortest Distance Between You and Your Next Job For hundreds of thousands of job seekers, The Damn Good Resume Guide has been the go-to resource for writing and refining their resumes to damn near perfection. Filled with savvy advice and written in a straightforward, user-friendly style, The Damn Good Resume Guide will help you zero in on that dream job, then craft a winning resume that gets your foot in the door. This tried-and-true best seller has been fully revised and updated for today's job market, including: Contemporary sample resumes (all of which landed interviews!) with job objectives running the career gamut--from line cook to sales manager, school principal to software engineer. Tips on creating a functional, chronological, or hybrid resume--and advice on choosing which format is best for you. What to include and what to leave out of your resume, so you get the job you really want. Smart ways to deal with gaps in your work history and other less-than-ideal resume scenarios. Instructions for writing cover emails and submitting resumes electronically. How to set up (and excel at) an informational interview. Advice for formatting, polishing, and proofing your resume so that it stands out in the right way. And much more! Follow Parker and Brown's ten easy steps, and you'll be well on your way to a smart, effective, and thoroughly modern resume--a resume that makes you look good and produces results.
This collection of resumes is aimed at computer professionals at all levels -- from entry-level to executive. This book gives strategies as well as 180 pages of sample resumes and cover letters for computer, Web, and IT professionals. The authors present sound resume and cover letter writing advice, including an all-new chapter on how to create and use an electronic resume. The appendix includes Internet job search resources.
Getting more than a moment of attention from potential employers isn't easy in today's job market. Not only are job seekers competing with a pool of other candidates, they're also up against resume screening software. Overcoming these obstacles is essential, and Gallery of Best Resumes helps job seekers do that and much more. This book showcases the very best resume samples, selected from thousands of submissions developed by professional resume writers throughout the U.S. These powerful resumes cover jobs from all occupational groups at all levels. In addition, the author provides a wealth of guidance on writing, designing, and using resumes and cover letters to get more immediate results in the job search. New content for this edition includes updated sample resumes and more coverage of electronic resumes including samples and tips for creating and formatting them.
On the list of things you want to do in life, writing a resume is right up there with hitting yourself in the head with a hammer. Yet your resume is the most financially important document you will ever own. When your resume works, you work, and when it doesn't, you don't either. It's that simple. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates shows you how to write a killer resume and includes 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. You get resume writing advice from a New York Times career bestseller, plus 105 Microsoft Word resume templates. this is a winning combination that doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is unique. Martin Yate, CPC, knows how to write a resume that works. He shows you how employers think about, prioritize, and express their needs for your job. Then he shows you how to leverage these insights to write a killer resume that will be more discoverable in resume databases and will then speak clearly to the recruiters and hiring manages who read it. Martin shows you how to sell your skills with integrity. You get all the advice on resume writing from the latest Knock 'em Dead Resumes, plus 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. It's a combination that you can't beat. A killer resume is the foundation of every successful career, and the tactics in these pages will guide your success for years to come. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is the definitive resource for creating a resume that gets results and helps you reach that next step on your professional path. This winning combination doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Template is unique. The future is here-what are you going to do?
Editor Anne McKinneyReviews and ExcerptsCivil engineers, mechanical engineers, structural engineers, marine engineers, chemical engineers, systems engineers, and engineering support personnel have a lot in common when they want to create a resume, and this book shows resumes and cover letters of individuals who want to work in the field. For those who seek federal employment, there's a special section showing how to create federal resumes and government applications. Since many technical types aren't writers, this comes as a special gift: select a winning format, plug in your background specs, and away you go. It's that easy--with REAL RESUMES in hand. - The Midwest Book Review1-885288-42-5