It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following books will assist you with organizing, writing, and properly citing in your papers. Usually the latest edition of a manual will be located at the Research Services Desk on the second floor, with older editions located in the Main Stacks (fourth floor). Some will be available online as well as indicated in the notes below.
Call Number: PE1112 .F64 2015 (Reference Desk -- 2nd Floor, older ed. in Main Stacks -- 4th Floor)
Publication Date: 2014-12-30
Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyWritingLab(tm) does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyWritingLab, search for ISBN-10: 0134072928/ ISBN-13: 9780134072920. That package includes ISBN-10: 0321988272 / ISBN-13: 9780321988270 and ISBN-10: 0133954706 / ISBN-13: 9780133954708. MyWritingLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor. For courses in English Composition. The gold standard of handbooks - unmatched in accuracy, currency, and reliability The Little, Brown Handbook is an essential reference tool and classroom resource designed to help students find the answers they need quickly and easily. While keeping pace with rapid changes in writing and its teaching, it offers the most comprehensive research and documentation available-with grammar coverage that is second to none. With detailed discussions of critical reading, media literacy, academic writing, and argument, as well as writing as a process, writing in the disciplines, and writing beyond the classroom, this handbook addresses writers of varying experience and in varying fields. Also available with MyWritingLab(tm) This title is also available with MyWritingLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students practice what they learn, test their understanding, and pursue a personalized study plan that helps them better absorb course material and understand difficult concepts.
This authoritative guide published by the Modern Language Association outlines how to document sources in a research paper using MLA style, for scholars and students at universities and secondary schools. It provides advice on all aspects of writing papers, from selecting a topic, the mechanics of writing, and plagiarism, to submitting the paper, abbreviations, and documenting a variety of sources. Reorganized and revised, this edition has been updated to include tips on research and writing in the online environment, simplified guidelines for citing works published on the internet, and new recommendations for citing works such as digital files and graphic narratives. It also has expanded discussion of when documentation is not needed, and revised guidelines for preparing a printed paper, citing works in newspapers and articles in reference works, and the punctuation of titles of works, and techniques for finding reliable sources online. It has a new companion website.
The third edition of this style manual from the Modern Language Association, the standard for the publishing of scholarly papers for over 50 years, has been expanded to include new formats for electronic sources, as well as updated information on copyrights and guidelines on preparing electronic files. Many of the enduring standards have been retained, however, such as guidelines for submitting manuscripts to publishers, and how to deal with legal issues surrounding the publishing of academic papers. This guide should be valuable for research scientists, graduate students and anyone who must prepare text for academic publication.
Easier to use than the MLA's own handbook, A Guide to MLA Documentation includes numerous examples, a new student paper, an APA index, and helpful hints on such topics as taking notes and avoiding plagiarism.
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.
Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.