It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Eugene McDermott library values our active duty and veteran students, staff, and faculty. This guide offers useful sources and research tips to assist in finding research and services for military and veterans interest topics.
A database is a collection of abstracts, indexes, full text documents (ebooks, articles, statistics, conference papers), or digital media (images, video, audio, maps). Content is created and managed by publishers and / or indexing services, and searching is hosted by their own licensed platform or database vendors like Ebsco and ProQuest.
While some databases are broad and multi-disciplinary in scope, most specialize in a given subject area. Click the Databases tab on the Library homepage and choose from the "Select a Subject" list for a shortlist of recommended databases, or use the A-Z listing if you have a specific database in mind.
Discover is an option that allows you to search across all physical / electronic library materials and most databases all at once.
Thisp rovides full-text coverage of periodicals pertaining to all branches of the United States military. Some publications included are: Defence Studies, Military Technology, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Foreign Affairs, and Naval Forces.
This database contains articles on the United States, Canadian, and Mexican cultural, social, economic, diplomatic, and military histories. It covers periods from prehistory to the present and includes many full-text articles.
PTSDpubs, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. It includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health results of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Coverage begins in the 1870s and continues through the present.
Can't find it? Contact ILL!
Books and articles not found in UTD Library collections can be requested at no charge through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Delivery time: Books/Media: 5-10 business days; Article/Chapter PDF: 1-2 days.