This is the "Home" page of the "Library Services for Student Veterans " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Services for Student Veterans  

Provides some shortcuts to getting to know the library and suggested resources.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/veterans Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Veterans Affairs Collection

The Veteran’s Affairs Collection is a growing selection of books and video resources intended to highlight, honor, and serve the experiences and educational needs of student veterans at UT Dallas. A deliberate focus has been placed on the experiences of veterans who served in the Iraq and Afghanistan Wars.

 

Films of Interest

These DVDs are available to be checked out at the Multimedia Services desk.

Return salute

DVD3810

Wartorn 1861-2010

DVD3906

When I came home

DVD3996

In their own words: Montgomery College student veterans

DVD3749          

Grounds for resistance: a documentary about contemporary G.I. resistance

DVD3910          

Restrepo one platoon, one valley, one year

DVD2731

The good soldier? what is courage?

DVD3908

Hell and back again

DVD3462

Alive day memories home from Iraq

DVD3909

The war you don't see

DVD3811  

My Vietnam, your Iraq

DVD3812

General Reference Sources

 

Other Campus Resources for Student Veterans

Veteran Services Center

http://www.utdallas.edu/veterans/

The UT Dallas Veteran Services Center (VSC) is a resource center for veterans, reservists, eligible dependents and active duty military students attending UT Dallas.

Student Success Center

http://www.utdallas.edu/studentsuccess/

Whether it is individualized tutoring, Peer-Led Team Learning (PLTL), Supplemental Instruction (SI), coordinated group study, or another approach to improving academic achievement, our student success team members make every attempt to assist students in achieving their academic goals across a wide variety of subject areas.

Student Counseling Center

http://www.utdallas.edu/counseling/

The Student Counseling Center provides programs and services designed to assist students in achieving emotional well-being necessary for success.

 

Rate This Site

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome to The Eugene McDermott Library

Overview of Resources and Services

  • Discover The Discover box (accessible from the main homepage of the library) will allow you to search the library catalog (the books, dvds, etc. that we own along with milliona of articles and electronic resources in one convenient interface.
  • Electronic Databases  The best place to search for articles on a variety of subjects.
  • Ask-A-Librarian
    • email reference service providing answers to brief, factual questions
    • Ask a UT System Librarian- Live Chat
       - chat-based collaborative reference service with other libraries in the University of Texas system
    •   IM a McDermott Librarian
    •  Text a reference librarian at txtref@utdallas.edu 
  • Useful Websites A collection of free WWW resource links, organized by subject and chosen by librarians at UTD.
  • Interlibrary Loan Provides access to materials not held in the McDermott Library collection.

 

 

Books Selected Just for Veterans

This collection of books can be easily retrieved in the Library Catalog (Discover Search) by searching for "Veterans Affairs Collection"

Ending wars well: order, justice, and conciliation in contemporary post-conflict

Eric Patterson

JZ5538 .P3732 2012

The rise and fall of war crimes trials: from Charles I to Bush II

Charles Anthony Smith

KZ1168.5 .S65 2012

The generals: American military command from World War II to today

Thomas E. Ricks

E745 .R47 2012               

Reborn on the fourth of July: the challenge of faith, patriotism & conscience

Logan Mehl-Laituri

BV4588 .M44 2012         

Bring me men: military masculinity and the benign facade of American empire, 1898-2001

Aaron Belkin

U21.5 .B45 2012              

The twilight war: the secret history of America's thirty-year conflict with Iran

David Crist

E183.8.I55 C75 2012               

Service: a Navy SEAL at war

Marcus Luttrell; James D Hornfischer

VG87 .L87 2012               

Understanding combat related post traumatic stress disorder

Walter F. McDermott

RC552.P67 M383 2012               

The Snake Eaters: An unlikely band of brothers and the battle for the soul of Iraq

Owen West

DS79.764.A63 W47 2012               

The strategic student: successfully transitioning from the military to college academics

David M. Cass

LB2395 .C35 2012               

The long walk: a story of war and the life that follows

Brian Castner

DS79.766.C37 A3 2013               

Called to serve: a handbook on student veterans and higher education

Florence A. Hamrick; Corey B Rumann

UB357 .H36 2012

Useful enemies: when waging wars is more important than winning them

David Keen

U21.2 .K427 2012               

Couple-based interventions for military and veteran families: a practitioner's guide

Douglas K Snyder; Candice M Monson

RC550 .C67 2012               

The territorial peace borders, state development, and international conflict

Douglas M. Gibler

Online access               

Arab society in revolt the West's Mediterranean challenge

Cesare Merlini; Olivier Roy

Online access               

Al Jazeera English: global news in a changing world

Philip M. Seib

PN1992.92.A393 A43 2012               

Demobilizing irregular forces

Eric Y. Shibuya

UA917.A2 S55 2012               

Women veterans: housing and health care concerns

Jason F Baker; Philip M Roberts

UB357 .W66 2012               

Terrorism and counter-intelligence: how terrorist groups elude detection

Blake W. Mobley

HV6431 .M625 2012               

War! what is it good for?: Black freedom struggles and the U.S. military from World War II to Iraq

Kimberley L. Phillips

Online access. The library also has physical copies. UB418.A47 P45 2012 

The post-traumatic stress disorder sourcebook: a guide to healing, recovery, and growth

Glenn R. Schiraldi

RC552.P67 S326 2009               

Courage after fire: coping strategies for troops returning from Iraq and Afghanistan and their families

Keith Armstrong; Suzanne Best; Paula Domenici

RC550 .A74 2006               

Making war at Fort Hood: life and uncertainty in a military community

Kenneth T. MacLeish

UA26.F663 M33 2013               

Improving college education of veterans

Charles Louis Hopkins

UB357 .I47 2010               

Educating veterans in the 21st century

Douglas Herrmann

UB357 .E29 2009               

Clinician's guide to treating stress after war: education and coping interventions for veterans

Julia M. Whealin; Lorie T DeCarvalho; Edward M Vega

RC552.P67 W455 2008               

The things they cannot say: stories soldiers won't tell you about what they've seen, done or failed to do in war

Kevin Sites

E181 .S537 2013               

After the war zone: a practical guide for returning troops and their families

Laurie B. Slone; Matthew J Friedman

RC550 .S548 2008               

War and the soul: healing our nation's veterans from post-traumatic stress disorder

Edward Tick

RC552.P67 T53 2005               

Flashback: posttraumatic stress disorder, suicide, and the lessons of war

Penny Coleman

RC552.P67 C652 2006               

Welcome to the suck narrating the American soldier's experience in Iraq

Stacey L. Peebles

Online access               

Progress in educating veterans in the 21st century

Douglas J Herrmann

UB357 .P755 2011               

Fire and forget: short stories from the long war

Roy Scranton; Matt Gallagher

PS648.W34 F57 2013               

Military education benefits for college a comprehensive guide for military members, veterans, and their dependents

David J. Renza; Edmund J Lizotte

Online access               

Deployment psychology evidence-based strategies to promote mental health in the military

Amy B. Adler; Paul D Bliese; Carl Andrew Castro

Online access

Finding success as a returning veteran or military student

Phil McNair; Frederick J. Stielow

U716 .M36 2012               

Global security watch--Syria

Fred Haley Lawson

Online access               

Strategies for managing stress after war: veteran's workbook and guide to wellness

Julia M. Whealin; Lorie T DeCarvalho; Edward M Vega

RC550 .W54 2008               

The power and the people paths of resistance in the Middle East

Charles Tripp

Online access

Healing war trauma: a handbook of creative approaches

Raymond M Scurfield; Katherine Theresa Platoni

RC552.P67 H427 2013               

When the war never ends: the voices of military members with PTSD and their families

Leah Wizelman

Online access. The library also has physical copies.

RC552.P67 W5913 2011

Fields of combat: understanding PTSD among veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan

Erin P. Finley

RC552.P67 F545 2011

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chris Edwards
Contact Info
972-883-2614
Send Email
 

Confused?

Want Help?

ask a librarian

Ask a Librarian


800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page The University of Texas at Dallas

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip