Drama Online is a great resource for researching plays and theatrical works. The database provides a growing collection of historical and contemporary plays as well as the audio editions of various works. It includes reference tools for students and faculty members.
Searches the following databases simultaneously: Academic Search Complete, Art Abstracts, Art Index Retrospective: 1929 - 1984, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Essay & General Literature Index, Humanities International Index.
The North American Theatre Online database provides detailed information on thousands of theatrical figures, plays, theatres, major productions, and production companies in Canada and the United States, including 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. The database covers the time period from the Colonial era to the present.
Produced by Alexander Street Press, Women's American Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Plays selected currently cover the 18th through the 21st centuries with future additions planned. Almost a third of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The collection will be of particular interest to students of feminism and for women's studies. The indexing makes it possible to find and analyze particular dialog, characters and events.
Full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. This database will provide information on related productions, theaters, productions companies, as well as selected playbills, productions photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays by 42 playwrights, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information for a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and will soon include contemporary playwrights such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
To access International Financial Statistics:Indexes hundreds of performing arts journals and as well as biographical information, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, and reviews. Subjects include film, television, theater, ballet, opera, musical theater, puppetry, mime, rodeos, circuses, etc. Some material is full-text. This is a good place to begin researching film and television studies. Abstracts span back to 1998, and indexing begins as far back as 1864.