This is the "Home" page of the "Mechanical Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mechanical Engineering   Tags: engineering, job_search, mechanical, mechanical_engineering  

Essential resources for mechanical engineering and technology research, including job resources.
Last Updated: Dec 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/mechanical Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Rate This Site

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Introduction

Mechanical Engineering

Resources on the mechanical engineering and technology.

 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:  T's & TJ's 

  • T 1 - 995 for (General) Technology 
  • TJ 1 - 1570 for Mechanical Engineering & Machinery 

For a full listing of the call number ranges including a detailed breakdown of the call numbers for engineering, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Circulating books (Main Stacks) for these call number ranges will be located on the fourth (4th) floor of the library.

Hardcopy journals and reference materials (see recommended books below) for these call number ranges will be located on the second (2nd) floor of the library.

For electronic journals and articles, try a mechanical engineering database and/or see the list of online journal publishers (multiple subjects).

 

Important Book & Ebook References

This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in mechanical engineering. Includes both hardcopy (paper) and electronic books.

Cover Art
Springer handbook of mechanical engineering
Call Number: Ebook
Covers numerous relevant mechanical engineering topics. Functions as a guide for people who design, develop, manufacture, operate, and use mechanical artifacts.

Cover Art
ASME engineer's data book - Clifford Matthews
Call Number: TJ151 .M392 2005 (Reference, 2nd floor)
This expanded second edition of our reference book contains over 100 new pages, including extensive coverage of Section VIII of the ASME Pressure Vessel Code. Divided into 22 sections, this pocket-sized volume is a "quick reference" of up-to-date engineering data and rules.

Cover Art
CRC handbook of mechanical engineering - edited by Frank Kreith and D. Yogi Goswami
Call Number: TJ151 .C73 2005 (Reference, 2nd floor)
Since the first edition of this comprehensive handbook was published ten years ago, many changes have taken place in engineering and related technologies. Now, this best-selling reference has been updated for the 21st century, providing complete coverage of classic engineering issues as well as groundbreaking new subject areas. Coverage of traditional topics has been updated, including sections on thermodynamics, solid and fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, materials, controls, energy conversion, manufacturing and design, robotics, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, and transportation. Updates to these sections include new references and information on computer technology related to the topics. This edition also includes coverage of new topics such as nanotechnology, MEMS, electronic packaging, global climate change, electric and hybrid vehicles, and bioengineering.

Cover Art
Mathematical Formulas for Industrial and Mechanical Engineering - Seifedine Kadry
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780124202221
Publication Date: 2014-01-09
This book serves the needs of students and teachers as well as professional workers in engineering who use mathematics. Students and professionals alike will find this book a valuable supplement to standard textbooks, a source for review, and a handy reference for many years.

* Covers mathematics formulas needed for Industrial and Mechanical Engineering
* Quick and easy to use reference and study
* Includes practical examples and figures to help quickly understand concepts

Cover Art
Essentials of applied mathematics for engineers and scientists - Robert Watts
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781608457816
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The second edition of this popular book on practical mathematics for engineers includes new and expanded chapters on perturbation methods and theory. This is a book about linear partial differential equations that are common in engineering and the physical sciences. It will be useful to graduate students and advanced undergraduates in all engineering fields as well as students of physics, chemistry, geophysics and other physical sciences and professional engineers who wish to learn about how advanced mathematics can be used in their professions. The reader will learn about applications to heat transfer, fluid flow and mechanical vibrations. The book is written in such a way that solution methods and application to physical problems are emphasized. There are many examples presented in detail and fully explained in their relation to the real world. References to suggested further reading are included. The topics that are covered include classical separation of variables and orthogonal functions, Laplace transforms, complex variables and Sturm-Liouville transforms. This second edition includes two new and revised chapters on perturbation methods, and singular perturbation theory of differential equations.

Cover Art
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Terms - K. K. Ramalingam
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9788122428742
Publication Date: 2009
This handbook has been prepared to meet the need of an up-to-date authoritative, yet concise compilation of the salient terms associated with the broad field of Mechanical Engineering. This handbook is intended to serve a twofold purpose.

First, it concentrates on and presents a brief description of the most important currently used terms. It will give the reader a true and full understanding and background of the meaning of the words that sooner or later will be needed in any occupation or trade.

Second, the book is available as in the general ready reference for the students and engineers of various courses and fields pertaining to Mechanical Engineering. It provides, in one convenient source, the brief explanations scattered in various text books, reference books handbooks and journals.

Cover Art
Marks' standard handbook for mechanical engineers
Call Number: TJ151 .A92 2007 (Reference, 2nd floor)
Solve any mechanical engineering problem quickly and easily with the world's leading engineering handbook

Nearly 1800 pages of mechanical engineering facts, figures, standards, and practices, 2000 illustrations, and 900 tables clarifying important mathematical and engineering principle, and the collective wisdom of 160 experts help you answer any analytical, design, and application question you will ever have.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill dictionary of engineering
Call Number: ebook
More than 18,000 essential terms. Covers every discipline of engineering. Provides synonyms, acronyms, and abbreviations.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill's engineering companion
Call Number: ebook
Here are the tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems engineers in design, product development, operation, production, analysis, and economic evaluation must have for successful day-to-day problem solving.

This dynamic one-volume database provides reliable, ready-to-apply solutions to literally hundreds of engineering problems -- formatted for convenient instant access and carefully culled from McGraw-Hill's most popular and respected handbooks, textbooks, and specialized technical books.

Cover Art
Mechanical engineering formulas pocket guide - Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: TJ151 .H62 2003 (Reference, 2nd floor)
This portable, find-it-now reference contains thousands of indispensable formulas mechanical engineers need for day-to-day practice. It's all here in one compact resource - everything from HVAC to stress and vibration equations - measuring fatigue, bearings, gear design, simple mechanics, and more.

Cover Art
Rules of thumb for mechanical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday mechanical engineering problems - J. Edward Pope, editor
Call Number: TJ151 .R84 1997 (Reference, 2nd floor)
Save time with this collection of straightforward, common-sense techniques that provide quick, accurate solutions to your engineering problems. Rules of Thumb for Mechanical Engineers assembles hundreds of shortcuts, calculations, practical "how-to" methods, and concise background reviews into one convenient volume. Whether you're concerned with design, selection, or performance, you'll find fast, accuarate answers here - all without wading through pages of theory. Experts from all engineering disciplines packed this book's sixteen chapters with design criteria and practical tips. You'll find easy-to-read descriptions on fluids, heat transfer, thermodynamics, seals, pumps, and compressors, drivers, gears, and bearings, as well as piping and pressure vessels. The book also covers tribology, vibrations, materials, stress and fatigue, instrumentation, and engineering economics.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Matt Makowka
 

800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page The University of Texas at Dallas

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip