Skip to main content

Literature and Languages: Home

What's New

New Titles

 

 

Introduction

Literature and Language

Resources on the study of literature and language. 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:  P

Important Resources

This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in literature and language.

General Reference Sources in Language

  • Oxford Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases PE1582 .A3O93 2010 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • Encyclopedia of language and linguistics P29 .E48 2006 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • New Partridge dictionary of slang and unconventional English PE3721 .P3 2006 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • The World's Major Languages P371 .W6 2009 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies P306 .R68 2009 (Reference, 2nd floor)

General Reference Sources in Literature

  • Handbook to Literature PN41 .H6 2009 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • A History of Literary Criticism PN86 .H23 2005 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • Critical survey of drama PN1625 .C68 2003 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • Dictionary of English and romance languages equivalent proverbs PN6421 .F56 2001 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • All things Chaucer: an encyclopedia of Chaucer’s world PR1903 .R55 2007 (Reference, 2nd floor)
  • Anatomy of wonder: a critical guide to science fiction PN3433.8 .A52 2004 (Reference, 2nd floor)

Online Reference Sources in Literature and Language

Subject Guide

Linda Snow
Contact:
972-883-2626