What's New
Resources on GIS
General Reference Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale Virtual Reference Librarya comprehensive collection of reference materials in electronic format
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Rate This Site
Introduction
What are Geographic Information Systems (GIS)?
According to the Association for Geographic Information, geographic information is
'Information about objects or phenomena that are associated with a location relative to the surface of the Earth'.
Geographic Information Systems are databases of geographic information can visually display many different types of data. The database stores the information and enables researchers to integrate, manipulate, analyze, and display geospatial data.
Important Resources
- ESRI Press dictionary of GIS terminology. G70.212 .E87 2001 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- A to Z GIS: an illustrated dictionary of geographic information systems. G70.212 .A86 2006 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopedia of geographic information science. G70.212 .E53 2008 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopeda of GIS. G70.212 .E534 2008 (Reference, 2nd floor)
Reference Sources in GIS (print)
|
|
|
|
|
Online Reference Sources in Geographic Information Systems
- Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
- Dictionary of Geography
- Hutchinson dictionary of geography
- GIS Dictionary
- Handbook of research of geoinformatics
- Encyclopedia of GIS
This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in Geographic Information Systems.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
