This is the "Home" page of the "Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Engineering   Tags: engineering  

Essential resources for engineering and techology research.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utdallas.edu/engineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Rate This Site

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Introduction

Engineering

Resources on the study of engineering. Below is a listing of the call number ranges where the hardcopy (paper) books can be found in the library.

 

Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:  TK 1 – 9971

  • TK 3001 – 3521 for Transmission of Electric Power / Circuits
  • TK 5101 – 6720 for Telecommunications
  • TK 7800 – 8360 for Electronics
  • TK 7885 – 7895 for Electronics, Computer Engineering

TK books can be found in the Main Stacks of the 4th floor (circulating books -- can be checked out) and in Reference on the 2nd floor (non-circulating books). Ebooks are available through DISCOVER (the library catalog).

For a full listing of the call number ranges including a detailed breakdown of the call numbers for engineering, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

 

Important Resources - Ebooks & Books @ the Library

This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in engineering.

Cover Art
Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas, and Calculations - Adedeji B. Badiru; Olufemi A. Omitaomu
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781420076271
Publication Date: 2010-09-17
Industrial engineering practitioners don't have to be computational experts; they just have to know where to get the computational resources that they need. This book provides access to computational resources needed by industrial engineers. It consists of several sections, each with a focus on a particular specialization area of industrial engineering, such as basic and engineering math, production engineering, engineering economics, ergonomics, systems and data engineering, project engineering, and simulation and statistical calculations.

Cover Art
Optical Engineering Fundamentals - Bruce H. Walker
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780819478771
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
This classic Tutorial Text provides a basic understanding of many fundamental optical principles. The Second Edition has been updated to reflect the development of electronic sensors, as well as the advent of mainstream consumer optical products. Chapters also emphasize the application of state-of-the-art computer software to generate solutions to related lens design and optimization problems. This is an ideal textbook for introductory courses at advanced high school and college levels. For those who proceed to work in the field of optical engineering, this book will provide a convenient source of valuable, basic reference material.

Cover Art
Polymer Foams Handbook: engineering and biomechanics applications and design guide - Nigel Mills
Call Number: TP1183.F6 M54 2007 (Main Stacks -- 4th Flr) & Ebook
ISBN: 0750680695
Publication Date: 2007-03-23
This handbook explores the applications of polymer foams, and the properties that make them suitable for so many applications, in the detail required by postgraduate students, researchers and the many industrial engineers and designers who work with polymer foam in industry. It covers the mechanical properties of foams and foam microstructure, processing of foams, mechanical testing and analysis (using Finite element analysis). In addition, it uniquely offers a broader perspective on the actual engineering of foams and foam based (or foam including) products by including nine detailed case studies which firmly plant the theory of the book in a real world context, making it ideal for both polymer engineers and chemists and mechanical engineers and product designers. * Complete coverage of the mechanical and design aspects of polymer foams from an acknowledged international expert: no other book is available with this breadth making this a plastics engineer's first choice for a single volume Handbook.
* Polymer foams are ubiquitous in modern life, used everywhere from running shoes to furniture, and this book includes nine extensive case studies covering each key class of application, including biomechanics
* Offers a rigorous mechanical and microstructure perspective, plus a computer based chapter: Essential for engineers and designers alike.

Cover Art
Basic Engineering Mathematics - John Bird
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781317937920
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
Now in its sixth edition, Basic Engineering Mathematics is an established textbook that has helped thousands of students to succeed in their exams.

John Bird's approach is based on worked examples and interactive problems. This makes it ideal for students from a wide range of academic backgrounds as the student can work through the material at their own pace. Mathematical theories are explained in a straightforward manner, being supported by practical engineering examples and applications in order to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough topic coverage makes this an ideal text for introductory level engineering courses.

Cover Art
Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary - Steven M. Kaplan
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0471402249
Publication Date: 2004-01-22
This dictionary is the essential source of definitions of electrical engineering terms and acronyms used in todays electrical and electronics literature.

Cover Art
Computer engineering handbook - edited by Vojin G. Oklobdzija
Call Number: TK7885 .C645 2002 (Reference -- 2nd Floor)
Oklobdzija (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) presents a handbook that attempts to comprehensively cover the fundamental and lasting issues of computer engineering and design, as well as present new directions and developments. Divided into twelve parts, the handbook covers the fabrication and technology of the processor chip; design techniques related to power consumption, signal processing, and embedded applications; a top-level view of computer architecture and computer system organization; and reliability and testability.

Cover Art
Standard handbook of electronic engineering - Donald Christiansen, editor, Charles K. Alexander, editor, Ronald K. Jurgen, associate editor
Call Number: TK7825 .E34 2005 (Main Stacks -- 4th Floor & Ebook)
Christiansen (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) updates this fifth edition of a handbook/CD-ROM package for electronics professionals to reflect significant advances in electronics hardware, circuits and functions, and applications. New chapters have been added on instrumentation and test systems, software reliability, systems engineering and management, and automotive electronics. Chapters are in sections on principles and techniques, components, circuits and functions, and systems and applications. The CD-ROM contains additional reference and archival material.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0071417990
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering provides a compendium of more than 18,000 terms that are central to the various branches of engineering and related fields of science. The coverage in this Second Edition is focused on building construction, chemical engineering, civil engineering, control systems, design engineering, electricity and electronics, engineering acoustics, industrial engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, systems engineering, and thermodynamics. Many new entries have been added since the previous edition
with others revised as necessary. Many of the terms used in engineering are often found in specialized dictionaries and glossaries; this Dictionary, however, aims to provide the user with the convenience of a single, comprehensive
reference.

Cover Art
Handbook of Optical Engineering - Daniel Malacara; B. J. Thompson
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0824799607
Publication Date: 2001-05-31
This handbook explains principles, processes, methods, and procedures of optical engineering in a concise and practical way. It emphasizes fundamental approaches and provides useful formulas and step-by-step worked-out examples to demonstrate applications and clarify calculation methods. The book covers refractive, reflective, and diffractive optical components; lens optical devices; modern fringe pattern analysis; optical metrology; Fourier optics and optical image processing; electro-optical and acousto-optical devices; spatial and spectral filters; optical fibers and accessories; optical fabrication; and more. It includes over 2,000 tables, flow charts, graphs, schematics, drawings, photographs, and mathematical expressions.

Cover Art
The Requirements Engineering Handbook - Ralph Young
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1580532667
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
A concise and thorough handbook on requirements analysis, this invaluable book is the perfect desk guide for your systems or software development work. This first-of-its-kind handbook enables you to identify the real customer requirements for your projects and control changes and additions to these requirements. The books helps you understand the importance of requirements, leverage effective requirements practices, and better utilize resources. You also learn how to strengthen interpersonal relationships and communications which are major contributors to project effectiveness.

Cover Art
Electrical Engineer's Portable Handbook - Robert B. Hickey
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 007143349X
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The first edition of this title proved the most successful of the Portable Handbook series launched in 1999. Aimed at electrical engineers and technicians working in building power systems, the relentlessly practical Handbook succeeded as an in the field working tool. This new edition is necessitated by the new 2002 version of the National Electrical Code (NEC). This code changes render much of the existing material obsolete, so over half the chapters require heavy rewrites to stay current.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion - Ejup N. Ganic; Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0071378367
Publication Date: 2002-09-23
Here are the tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems engineers in design, product development, operation, production, analysis, and economic evaluation must have for successful day-to-day problem solving.

Cover Art
Telecommunications Technology Handbook - Daniel Minoli
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1580535283
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The telecommunications industry is going through challenging times, and this extensively revised second edition of the bestselling Telecommunications Technology Handbook is the resource you need to meet these challenges head on and to thrive in today's telecom industry. To forecast market demand accurately and predictably, you can turn to the new section on marketing analysis techniques and market data sampling. Broadband, Ethernet, and wireless are emerging as de facto transmission technologies for enterprise networks, and new extensive coverage of these transmission technologies provides the hands-on knowledge you need to keep your career and your organization's networking architecture on track.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Matt Makowka
Contact Info
MC 2.518, 972-883-6773
Send Email
 

800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080 (P.O. Box 830643, 75083-0643) (972)-883-2955
Send your questions or comments to: Library Web Oversight Committee
UT Dallas Home Page The University of Texas at Dallas

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip