What's New
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2013. 2nd edition Main Stacks, 3rd floor Call Number:HV9275 .C633
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2012. Main Stacks,3rd floor Call Number:HV6025 .R677 2012
General Reference Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale Virtual Reference Librarya comprehensive collection of reference materials in electronic format
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Rate This Site
Introduction
Criminology
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges: HV
"scientific study of the nonlegal aspects of crime and delinquency, including its causes, correction, and prevention, from the viewpoints of such diverse disciplines as anthropology, biology, psychology and psychiatry, economics, sociology, and statistics" (From the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online http://www.search.eb.com.libproxy.utdallas.edu/eb/article-9109546, viewed on October 30,2008).
Important Resources
Selected Reference Tools in Criminology
This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts in Criminology.
Reference Sources in Criminology
- American dictionary of criminal justice. HV7411.C48 2005 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopedia of crime and punishment. HV6017 .E524 2002 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior.HV6017 .E53 2001 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopedia of forensic sciences. HV8073 .E58 2000 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Encyclopedia of cyber crime HV6773 .E53 2009 (Reference, 2nd floor)
Online Reference Sources
Statistical Sources
ProQuest Statistical Insight is a full-text database containing thousands of statistical charts and tables derived from federal and state government agencies, international bodies, and private organizations. ProQuest Statistical Insight's content is quite broad and includes demographic data as well as data about crime, economics, health, education, labor, and the environment. Older paper copies of these indexes (American Statistical Index, the Index to International Statistics, and the Statistical Reference Index) are available on microfiche for 1974-2000 in the Microform Index Area. How to Search This Database
Resource for building statistical tables from over 100 licensed and public domain datasets. "ProQuest Statistical Datasets is a Web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to 1.5 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. With this dynamic new tool, you can scan the contents of over 530 datasets, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts." How to Search This Database
- Crime State Rankings HV6787 .C745 (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Crime in the United States
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (current)
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
