Librarian
About This Guide
The purpose of this guide is to inform students, faculty, and our community of the many types of resources available to facilitate the study of music, be it scholarly research or personal interest.
The Eugene McDermott Library collections and electronic resources include books and articles on biographies, theory, and scholarly analysis of music, sheet music, and video and audio collections of musical performances.
Use the navigation tabs to learn about library materials and how to access them.
The following Library of Congress Call Number ranges can be used to locate physical materials in the Library's collections:
Dance GV1580 - GV1799.4, circulating titles located on the 3rd Floor.
Music M, circulating titles located on the 4th Floor.
Top 5 Resources
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextRILM features the content of over 45 countries published from the early 20th century to the present on a variety of topics in music studies: musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, performance, and more. Users may also access indexing and abstracting of content (journals, books, dissertations, and more) spanning back to the 19th century and available in over 140 languages.
- Naxos Music Library OnlineNaxos offers thousands of tracks of jazz, film music, world music, and classic and contemporary rock, with customizable playlists supported. Recordings are searchable by genre, label, instrument, composer, or performer.
- Music POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new window
This POWERSEARCH searches all of these databases simultaneously: Art and Architecture Complete, Art Index Retrospective, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Humanities Full Text, Humanities International Index, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text .
- Grove Music OnlineGrove Music Online is an online encyclopedia offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Through GMO, researchers can gain clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and access extensive bibliographies leading to additional scholarship.
- Oxford Journals Online-- access to Music and Letters, the Musical Quarterly, and Music Theory Spectrum and Therapy.