Library Liaison to the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science
About: Reference Materials
Reference materials like encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and handbooks are a great way to learn terminology, important people, places or events, and related concepts when exploring a new topic.
Use the Library Catalog tab to search print and electronic reference materials, or visit the general reference databases page.
Here is a books-only search for your convenience! Try title, author, subject, or keywords.
Print Locations
Library of Congress Call Number Ranges:
Computer Science -- Electronic Data Processing
QA 75.5 – QA 76.95
Hardcopy books will be located on the 4th floor of the library (see call number range above). Online books can be found by searching the Library Catalog or by browsing the Ebook Collections.
Online Reference Sources
Computer Sciences by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780028662251Publication Date: 2013Reviews the history of computer science, discusses concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Also explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary.
Computing Handbook by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781439898536Publication Date: 2014-05-07Computing Handbook, Third Edition: Computer Science and Software Engineeringmirrors the modern taxonomy of computer science and software engineering as described by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE Computer Society (IEEE-CS). Written by established leading experts and influential young researchers, the first volume of this popular handbook examines the elements involved in designing and implementing software, new areas in which computers are being used, and ways to solve computing problems. The book also explores our current understanding of software engineering and its effect on the practice of software development and the education of software professionals.
Encyclopedia of Parallel Computing by Call Number: EbookISBN: 0387097651Publication Date: 2011-09-10Containing over 300 entries in an A-Z format, the Encyclopedia of Parallel Computing provides easy, intuitive access to relevant information for professionals and researchers seeking access to any aspect within the broad field of parallel computing. Topics for this comprehensive reference were selected, written, and peer-reviewed by an international pool of distinguished researchers in the field. The Encyclopedia is broad in scope, covering machine organization, programming languages, algorithms, and applications.
Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781461461692Publication Date: 2014-08-24
Wiley Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780471383932Publication Date: 2009-01-20This 5-volume set includes over 450 A to Z articles addressing the latest advances and findings in computer science and engineering, in addition to important topics of interest to computer scientists and engineers, including standards, electronic commerce, financial engineering, and computer education. Each article is written by an expert in his or her particular specialty and is peer-reviewed by two other experts to ensure that it is clear and precise. References and website of related interest accompany every article. ~ Description provided by publisher
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology OnlineAccess thousands of articles, dictionary terms, and research updates in all areas of science and technology. AccessScience also includes thousands of biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.