What's New
New Books
-
The Italian Renaissance State
JN5231 .I73 2012
(Main Stacks, 4th floor) -
The Italian Renaissance and Cultural Memory
N6915 .E468 2012
(Main Stacks, 4th floor) -
Women, Art and Architectural Patronage in Renaissance Mantua : Matrons, Mystics and Monasteries
N7952 .M36 H53 2012
(Main Stacks, 4th floor)
General Reference Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Gale Virtual Reference Librarya comprehensive collection of reference materials in electronic format
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Rate This Site
The Renaissance
The Renaissance
The Renaissance: the ‘rebirth’ of literature, art, and learning that progressively transformed European culture from the mid‐14th century in Italy to the mid‐17th century in England, strongly influenced by the rediscovery of classical Greek and Latin literature, and accelerated by the development of printing. The Renaissance is commonly held to mark the close of the Middle Ages and the beginning of the modern Western world. Oxford Reference Online Database
Important Resources
This collection includes sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories to help find brief explanations and general information about terms and concepts related to the Renaissance.
History and Biography (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Blackwell Companion to the Worlds of the Renaissance CB367 .C65 2002
- Chronology of the Expanding World, 1492-1762 D209 .W59 1994
- Women in World History HQ1115 .W6 1999
- Encyclopedia of the Renaissance CB361 .E52 1999
- Europe: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, 1450-1789 D209 .E97 2004
Religion and Philosophy (Reference, 2nd floor)
- New Catholic Encyclopedia BX841 .N44 2003
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas CB9 .N49 2005
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy B51 .R68 1998
- Encyclopedia of Protestantism BX4811.3 .E53 2004
Literature and the Arts (Reference, 2nd floor)
- Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900 NX650 .M9R45
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History GT507 .G74 2008
- Grove's Dictionary of Art N31 .D5 1996
- New Oxford History of Music: Ars Nova and the Renaissance ML160 .N44
- Signs and Symbols in Christian Art AZ108 .F37
- German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation PT241 .G47 1997
Online Reference Sources for the Renaissance
Online Scholarly Journals
The focus of these online journals is restricted to the Renaissance almost exclusively.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
