Subject Guide
About This Guide
The following is a guide to resources on literature and languages. It covers materials on or consisting of literature, novels, poetry, literary criticism and analysis, book reviews, and more.
This guide will be updated with new library materials and other relevant resources as they become available. Use the tabs on the left to navigate through a variety of research tools and content.
Photo: Bust of Shakespeare by Louis Francois Roubiliac, 18th Century, courtesy of ARTStor
Top Resources
- Literature POWERSEARCH This link opens in a new windowThis searches all of the following databases simultaneously: Essay and General Literature Index, Essay and General Literature Retrospective (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984, Humanities Full Text, Literary Reference Source, and MLA International Bibliography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources, with a broad variety of coverage in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, spanning more than 50 disciplines. Collections on JSTOR include the complete archival records of thousands of journal titles.
- Project Muse (electronic journals from Johns Hopkins Press)This provides full-text access to hundreds of journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage begins in 1993.
- Bloom's Literary Criticism eBook CollectionThe Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection includes more than 600 titles from a variety of series including Major Dramatists, Modern Critical Views, Literary Themes, and Shakespeare Through the Ages. The collection covers a broad selection of literary works, their authors, and genres. Each title in the collection was edited by Harold Bloom, a known American literary critic and Humanities Professor at Yale University.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online database is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Researchers can access over 200 years of scholarship on a wide variety of subjects.